Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Francine from England

Fantastic introduction to South Africa

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Views from the terrace and the breakfast.
This guest house was our first stop in SA and was way above our expectations. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was wonderful. The only thing to note is that this guest house is on quite a steep hill and there are a lot of stairs. Being very near Kalk Bay station provided easy and cheap access to Cape Town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Excellent value for money stay in Kalk Bay

Posted Apr 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had excellent rooms at this very well positioned hotel. Within easy walking distance of the harbour front and with spectacular sea views. I would also recommend the excellent breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Kendal from London

Kalk Bay, gorgeous stay

Posted Mar 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved Chartfield's- fresh and funky home away from home. Great room, comfortable bed, lovely view. Breakfast was amazing even though the town had a blackout and the team were cooking with gas and candle light! Would stay again in a flash. Kalk bay is a must and we'd especially recommend a morning swim at one of the tidal pools (very refreshing!) such a beautiful setting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julia

Beautiful place and beautiful town!

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Pros: Room, view, breakfast
Cons: A fridge.
Location: It's in the middle of the town, very good location. You get restaurants, bars, shops near by.
The room we had was wonderful, a nice big room with great sea view! Very simple but comfortable, we like its simplicity. The breakfast at the guesthouse was great too! Fresh, teasty and plenty! The guest house located at a hill, a good location to go anywhere in Kalk bay. Really enjoyed our stay! Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lisa Shara Hall from Portland, Oregon

Posted Oct 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
A pleasant place to stay in Kalk Bay
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dzi from UK

Cozy, Clean & Safe.

Posted Sep 5, 2013
Pros: Laid back, swimming pool for summer, wood burner for winter. 5 star staff. Clean Safe.
Cons: Phones in rooms for room service.
Location: Brass Bell Pub 5 stars all round, Boulders Beach penguins round the corner. hotels off main rd. near train but suggest you rent a car for flexibility.
Went with my girlfriend to check out South Africa for the first time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Chartfield is in a lovely location

Posted Aug 14, 2013
Cons: Parking situation
We had a great stay with Chartfield and have recommended it to my family, who is going their in a few weeks. Parking was quite a problem. It is a family run guest house, and most of the staff was very gracious, however, one of the members clearly doesn't like her job. The couple who own the property were just wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vladimir from Moscow, Russia

Comfortable hotel, nice staff

Posted Jul 15, 2013
We with wife were from 3 July until 7 July 2013. This hotel is small and comfortable. It is close the ocean. The staff is nice and kind.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Hesam from California

awesome place.

Posted Jun 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was amazing and the staff were super nice and helpful!