Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent service and top kitchen

Posted Apr 20, 2015
i booked the second time into this nice hotel and im impressed in their service and excellent food. on best position in stellenbosch!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Nice Hotel, Excellent Breakfast, Best Location

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Breakfast Amazing and the hostess is very welcoming
Cons: Parking and access without going through kitchen
Location: Located on main street of Stellenbosch with all restaurant, shops and bars ob your door steps
If you are looking for a place to stay right in the center of Stellenbosch, with excellent Breakfast (probably the best we had in SA), with nice rooms then this is an excellent choice. Pool is a bit disappointed as it is in a small court yard in shade most of the day with only a couple of sunbeds in the sun - once these are gone the other option is sitting in the shade, and as the pool is unheated even this was a bit cool to temp me to swim. Our room was nice on ground floor with internal windows onto hallways, which made it feel a bit claustrophobic. The bed was wonderful so did get a good night sleep. Depending on where you room is you might have to walk through the kitchen to get to it - again not something I liked that much. But the biggest issue for me was the valet parking - you have to double park. When we arrived no one rushed out to meet or greet you - except the street parking attendants. Hotel staff do take you car away to park once they know you are there. I think they need a loading bay right outside. Because of this I would only stay if if I had no car, and to be fair in this location you don't need one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Boutique hotel downtown Stellenbosch

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Pros: Good location to walk to shops and galleries Very professional staff Very nice bathroom Excellent breakfast
Cons: The room is pretty tight--bed takes up most of the space. Our room was right over the kitchen so lots of extra noise
Overall very good, would consider staying here again on the next trip. Room is a bit tight but the staff is excellent and there is a lot to do right in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Johnfrom UK

I wanted to like this place more

Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels.com
Had a slightly odd stay at the Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel. I'm not sure if the staff are guided to 'serve' rather than 'engage' but I found the hotel to be a bit soulless and many of the staff lacked warmth. Ilzebet was a standout delight but the breakfast staff were formal and appeared mostly miserable. To be fair, many of the guests were pretty po-faced so perhaps they influenced the mood of the staff! Inconsistency in staff friendliness aside, the hotel is in a great location. Our room was pretty small but it had a great and huge bathroom and the bed was super comfortable. Unfortunately, the aircom was temperamental and did little to cool the room (5) on a warm January evening, we didn't get the best night's sleep. Breakfast was good, fresh scones were a definite highlight but then on both days we were directed to tables lacking pretty standard cutlery - looking around you realised most were poorly laid up - you might get a knife but no fork, and there seemed to be some issue locating spoons!? There was nothing really bad about the Coopmanhuijs, others have rated it very highly and I wanted to like this place too but if I'm being honest, it was just okay :(
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stellenbosch historic hotel

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Coopmanhuijs is a lovely hotel located in Stellenbosch's center. A national monument, Coopmanhuijs retains much of its 18th century charm while offering modern convenience and luxury. The staff are exceptionally helpful, knowledgable and friendly. Highly recommended, especially as a "base" for exploring the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great Location

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Nice hotel in the centre of Stellenbosch. Great for staying in as a base for wine tours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by STEPHENfrom Langebaan

Anniversary getaway

Posted Dec 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fantastic location, friendly staff and excellent room. Spa service my wife received was also outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom shropshire

Fab stay in the wine lands

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Fantastic hotel,rxceent location, amazing resturant, and staff that gave 100% really can't be beaten. The only thing I would recommend is upgrading your room to a superior or balcony room as the standard room is a little small but never the less still lovely :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Veen

Prettig Hotel met goed restuarant

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: Restaurant en ligging van het Hotel
Location: Hotel ligt in Centrum en prima voor de avond. Alle Restaurants and bars liggen op veilige loopafstand
Buitengewoon prettig Hotel met vriendelijke personeel, Restaurant is een van de betere in de omgeving en heerlijk gegeten. Hotel ligt in het Centrum met fijn Buiten terras en parkeren is op vallet Basis wat overigens prima was. Kamer zijn goed met een fijn bed en schoon en ruime douche. Kamer 12 heeft sochtends wat last van de buren wanneer je met de ramen open wilt slapen. Er is tevens een airco aanwezig. Maar bovenal een prima en vertrouwde plaats om te slapen.