Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Botswana

Convenient for wandering around Cape Town

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: Within walking distance of the v&a and downtown Cape Town. Lots of individual houses bought up and together makes waterkant house and village.
Cons: Rooms could be a little cleaner.
Location: Plenty... It is central!
A cluster of individual houses turned into hotel rooms. Plenty of braii stands, rooftop space and a funky little pool. Staff very helpful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

cute guest house in AMAZING neigborhood !!!

Posted Jan 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
both times i've been to Cape Town - i have stayed here .... if u are looking for a quaint neighborhood to stay in w/ good eats and shopping -- STAY HERE
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Prettige B&B met alle gemakken binnen handbereik

Posted Dec 20, 2013
Pros: De locatie, service en algehele staat van de B&B is goed.
Cons: Het zou prettig zijn als je zelf kan bepalen of je graag je handdoeken wilt laten vervangen, de frequentie is nu elke drie dagen.
Location: Je zit in een 'vrolijke' (lees: Gay) buurt, dus als je als hetero dat niet prettig vindt, zit je in de verkeerde wijk.
Je zit exact tussen het V&A Waterfront en het centrum van Kaapstad in (beide 10 min. lopen) en ook de supermarkt (met veel vers producten) is om de hoek. Qua locatie heb je dus echt niks te wensen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Barbarafrom Austin, Tx

Great hotel!

Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Safe, easy access area without being in tourist area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by mgood66

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Bonn

Zentral und ruhig

Posted Feb 4, 2012 on Hotels.com
Ruhig, schöne Ecke von Kapstadt, zentral. Pool zum Abkühlen nach Sightseeing. ( klein, eher Tauchbecken aber voll ausreichend). Tolles Haus Kolonialstil . Frühstück um die Ecke ( Voucher ) kein Problem und lecker.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 4, 2011 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Stellenbosch

Great area to stay in!

Posted Mar 22, 2011
Great area, great restaurants and vibey. Room we got at the internet rate was a bit small and kind of in the basement with a window looking outside into a wall. Wil stay again, but will look at one of the lovely upstairs rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Kronsmoor, Deutschland

Das Gästehaus liegt in der Nähe der Waterfront , dem Tafelberg und der gut zuerreichenden Innenstadt

Posted Dec 8, 2010
Das Gästehauses liegt nahe der Waterfront .Sie ist schnell und günstig mit einem Taxi oder Mietwagen zu erreichen. Bewachte Parkhäuser sind an der Waterfront vorhanden. ( 4 Stunden Parkzeit für 10 Rand) Die Bushaltestelle für Stadtrundfahrten ist in ca. 5 Gehminuten zu erreichen.Etwa 15 Minuten geht man zum täglichen Markt auf dem die Händler ihre Schnitzereien und Souvenirs anbieten. Der Tafelberg ist mit einem Mietwagen oder Taxi in 10-15 Minuten zu erreichen oder man steigt bei einer Stadtrundfahrt aus und fährt mit einem späteren Bus weiter.Ebenso kann man alle Sehenswürdigkeiten per Stadtrundfahrt erkunden wenn keinen Mietwagen oder ein Taxi benutzen will. Günstig ist die Lage auch wenn man mit einem Mietwagen das Westerncape erkundet, die Straßen sind gut beschildert , so dass man sich nicht so leicht verfährt !
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, Illinois

On top of the hill...

Posted Nov 9, 2010 on Hotels.com
I enjoyed staying at the De Waterkant House. Three issues I had, which were very minor: 1. The hotel was located on a steep cobblestone hill (not very enticing to venture up after a long day of walking, after a few drinks, or if you are handicapped). 2. The room did not have air conditioning (even though I called before my arrival and asked if the room was air conditioned and the staff said yes it was air conditioned). 3. The cleaning staff needs to clean the carpet and drapes in the room (I saw water stains on the carpet and mold on the drapes). The house I stayed in had a full kitchen, dining room, living room, outside deck and small swimming / lounge pool. There were great views from the outside seating area. The house was half filled with guests during my stay. I didn't see another guest until day 2 of my stay. The home was quiet, clean, and relaxing. The first night I stayed I asked for a fan since it was warm the night I got there. The staff brought in a 6 foot floor fan that was so big (the blades were 2 feet long) and loud (like a small jet engine) that it drowned out the television. I would suggest that the hotel invest in a ceiling fan. My room was in the basement of this old renovated home.The room was quaint, clean but no views since I was stuck in the basement of the house. The hotel area was very safe. I saw security patrolling the grounds / neighborhood constantly all hours of the day. The area around the hotel is clean, beautiful and quiet. Within a block or two around the hotel area there are many restaurants and bars (straight and gay). There are also lovely restored upscale homes to look at, lots of boutique shopping and there is even an upscale grocery store in the mall. So if you don't want to go out and eat, you can always do a bit grocery shopping and cook your meal back at the hotel. The area is a bit pricey because of the upscale neighborhood. The hotel is close to all the attractions (waterfront & Bo Kaap / Long Street), close to the city center, and many other neighborhoods. To get to the hotel there is a shuttle bus that runs from the airport to the downtown convention center till about 9:00 p.m. Instead of paying for a taxi from the airport you can use the MyCiti shuttle bus to get to the convention center then take a cab to the hotel from the convention center. This will save you some money if you are on a frugal budget. It is half the price of a taxi. The hotel doesn't mention the MyCiti shuttle service and the staff will suggest using one of their taxi cab services. Overall, the experience I had in Capetown and with the hotel was wonderful. I highly recommend this hotel for its price, quality, respectful staff and location.