Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joanne from Toronto

Wonderful guest house below Table Mountain

Posted Jun 11, 2014
We had a fantastic stay at Derwent House. The little things made the difference in this lovely setting. The staff were responsive to our needs giving honest opinions and assistance from tours to local dinners to where to run. the breakfasts were great, cold and hot options. The sitting area is lovely if you want to stay in by the fire for an evening. Would definitely recommend this for a couple looking for a nice quiet stay in Cape Town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robyn from Toronto

Fabulous boutique hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: The location was far enough removed from the downtown core but still very accessible even by foot.
Cons: Nothing. It was great!
Location: For food & drink, you're in the best location in the city. Just follow the locals.
We stayed for 4 nights and didn't want to leave! The staff were all very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The location of this lovely little property is perfect for those who don't want to be in the hustle and bustle of the city but still within walking distance. I loved that we were in a residential area and less than a 5 minute walk to the trendiest local restaurants on Kloof Street. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Stylish Boutique Hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: The staff was extremely attentive, the breakfasts were very good, and the back deck had an amazing little swimming pool and hot tub.
A wonderful small hotel experience that really made it feel like coming home at the end of long day. The main lounges were perfect for relaxing and the rooms were very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Logan

Amazing Boutique Hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Derwent House is a phenomenal boutique hotel with simply the best staff I've ever encountered. They went above and beyond constantly ensuring that every detail was taken care of, and did not hesitate to offer recommendations or aid in planning outings. We stayed in one of their apartments, which was in a separate building right behind the main hotel. The apartment had all of the amenities that you could hope for. The washing machine was a welcome sight as well. The location is extremely safe, and walking to nearby bars and restaurants on Kloof Street at pretty much any time was a non-issue. Thank you again, Derwent House for making our stay in Cape Town truly unforgettable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by margaret from near london

Posted Jan 25, 2014
Pros: Everything
First Class hotel with warm friendly and attentive service, nothing was too much trouble . The hotel is well situated , about 10 mins by taxi from both waterfront and table mountain cabal car. The hotel is beautifully designed and a joy to be in. Everything was well thought out, from the mobile phone with local SIM card in our room,not try's left out to make tea and coffee, very well stocked honesty bar, and cake put out at 4 pm. The pool area is lovely with pool towels provided,very welcome as it was so hot in January. Great breakfast that would keep you going all day. Cannot recommend highly enough.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tim from London

Amazing staff

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: Service
Location at the bottom of table mountain about 15 minute walk from the centre. The staff are the number one selling point and will help with whatever you need. The communal area is beautiful with a warm fire and comfy sofas. Breakfast was delicious. Room was a bit small but that was the only complaint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by P from New York

Better than V&A

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
So glad we stayed here. We debated the location of our hotel for a while and due to the reviews, we decided to Stay at Derwent and are so happy with our decision. You will not regret the decision.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jennie from London, England

Excellent hotel!

Posted Nov 20, 2013
Pros: A small boutique hotel with the personal touch, nothing was too much trouble.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Excellent location for Table Mountain and sightseeing!
From the moment I arrived to my departure the hotel staff ensured that my stay was wonderful and I didn't have to do anything it was all organised for me. The hotel was everything I expected and more, I would recommend it to anyone who wants the personal touch! Excellent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Nic from East Sussex, UK

Fabulous & safe

Posted Oct 31, 2013
Pros: Can't say enough about this hotel & the staff, such warm reception, they couldn't be more helpful and accommodating. great location to table mountain
Cons: Nothing! :)
Location: Perfect, 20mins walk to center another 5/10mins to the waterfront with all the shops and 20mins to Table Mountain
Traveling on my own i was worried about my safety but I never felt unsafe in this city, i had an amazing experience. I was given some good advise from the hotel manager at the Derwent Boutique Hotel, which was walk around during the day, its safe, stay vigilant as you would at home, don't walk on your own at night - being female its not advised - but if with others its fine. I stayed in two hotels the Derwent 20mins from the center another 5/10mins to the waterfront - actually perfect location you don't hear the traffic, there are loads of restaurants down Kloof net and Kloof street and was only 20mins walk to table mountain, a bit of a hike but well worth it, you could drive it in 5 mins and also for another 10/15 mins you can drive to Camps bay - and the Protea on the waterfront. I would advise doing both the red and blue open top bus routes its cheap, you get to use it all day and you get to see the key areas of the city and learn about the history, also from memory the blue route takes you out on the wine route. There are loads of things to see and do, shark cage diving (2 hrs drive from Cape Town), whale watching, bungee jumping, aquarium, canopy zip slide, vineyard tours you name it you can do it. I went on the garden view tour (4 days) which takes you down to Oudtstoorn, Jeffrey's and Mossel Bay where you can go caving, ostrich tours and riding, elephant riding and feeding and bungee jumping. Had amazing time very sad to leave :(