Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alicia from Fort Laudierdalle

This hotel had change mycstandard of excellence

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Ones you get settle, you feel like you have arrived at your rich uncle's house that has give you Justine (the manager) and Peter our guardian Angel, to make you feel at heaven because everything is been taken care off. Everything is perfect !!! It is a treat that everybody should have, at least once in a life time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by An Artist from Madison WI

Attentive staff and well cared for historic site

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: The charm, the small size, the friendly helpful staff and the attention to detail are what I will remember most.
Cons: There is no elevator so it would be difficult for older couples but it is only a two story property so it is no problem for most people.
Location: It is a minute from the ferris wheel at the V&A harbor so there is lots of restaurants and shops and very close to the Aquarium.
The building is the former harbour master's residence. It is close to but overlooks the V&A Harbour. The staff clearly love the boutique hotel and are very attentive to the needs of their guests. Welcoming fruit and champagne and a nightly baked treat at bedside are examples. Breakfasts were served in the dining room by efficient friendly staff. The inside is state of the art modern without spoiling the charm of the hotel. If you get a balcony you can enjoy the sea breeze but the back garden is relaxing day or night. I would definitely recommend it to friends and stay there next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by fuzzmeister from england

A wonderful place to stay

Posted Feb 20, 2014
I cannot recommend The Dock House enough. Fantastic and personal service and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are marvellous (would suggest you try to get 505 or 504 which have balconies) and more than equal to any 5 star hotels I have stayed in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Di Terralontana from Sydney

First Rate

Posted Feb 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
The rooms were tastefully appointed and very large. We had a comfortable balcony with a view over the V&A waterfront. The bathroom was enormous. Service was friendly and professional. Everyone went out of their way to be helpful. We can't recommend this hotel highly enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Swansea

Relaxed Atmosphere in Centre of City

Posted Feb 3, 2014
From the moment we arrived this hotel proved to be something special. Wonderful staff who are friendly and attentive. The room was excellent with a large balcony from which we had a great view of the waterfront. The gardens and pool are tranquil despite the close proximity of the waterfront shops and restaurants. I have stayed in other 5 star hotels in Cape Town but this was the best for me
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by BBill from Glasgow

Fantastic Location

Posted Feb 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location but slightly disappointed given previous reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jennifer from San Francisco, CA

Excellent Hotel and Location

Posted Dec 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
We loved the Dock House Boutique Hotel! We stayed there at the end of our honeymoon and it was an ideal location to explore Cape Town for the two short days we had. The staff was beyond accommodating, flexible and helpful, and the breakfast was delicoius! Our room was enormous, clean, beautiful and so well appointed! We considered staying at a name brand hotel (One & Only, etc), but we're so glad we chose the Dock House. I highly recommend it! Thank you to the staff for making our stay so great!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andy & Duds from Sydney

Boutique gem at V&A waterfront

Posted Jun 6, 2013
This gem of a boutique hotel exceeded our expectations in every way.The location is fantastic - perched just above the V&A waterfront with a private gate off the back lawn leading directly to the centre of the waterfront action. The staff were relaxed and friendly, and couldnt do enough for us in terms of booking drivers for day trips, suggesting and booking restaurants, and giving advice on different wineries / sights. Kelly, in particular, was an angel. The rooms are, quite simply, MASSIVE. Beautifully appointed, clearly only just renovated, and with a homely touch that is still very chic. The bathroom was almost as big as the room, with the biggest bath I've soaked in in a long time, huge separate shower with marble feature wall, double basin sink and great range of local products. The room we had, #5 upstrais, opened on to a private balcony with great views over the waterfront and the ocean behind that. A la carte breakfast was downstairs in a lovely intimate dining room, with fresh fruit and pastries and a good selection of hot mains. We stayed 4 nights, and when we come back to Cape Town wouldnt stay anywhere else. Thanks again Kelly and the team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nick from Perth WA, Australia

Exceptional

Posted May 29, 2013
Pros: Quality of service and homely feel of the Dockhouse
Exceeded our expectations. Exceptional quality and service and we loved our stay. The Dockhouse was perfectly located being perched on top of a small hill overlooking the V&A Waterfront. We couldn't have asked for more.