Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mick from Perth

Posted Nov 24, 2013
Pros: Nice Hotel close to most Attractions.Not far to VA waterfront shops and resturants
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very nice. Excellent location. Good breakfast. Friendly staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
When I booked through you, it was said to have: (1) bath tub - it didn't (2) flatscreen TV - it didn't and (3) 'toiletries in bathroom' (it had shower gel/hand wash botled to wall in shower cabin and above sink. Please amend your website.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Conference traveller

Adequate somewhat run-down central Cape Town

Posted Aug 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
Everything was fine. Good breakfast buffet but gets picked over if you get there later. Staff tried hard but imprecise on details. Rooms comfortable but fixtures, furniture etc. old/ancient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2011 on Hotels.com
great location and value for money. really friendyl helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Fountains Hotel, Cape Town, South Africa-great!

Posted Oct 17, 2011 on Hotels.com
The Fountains Hotel is a direct, no more than 10 minute walk of several secure blocks, to the Cape Town Convention Center, where in my first week I attended academic sessions and social events of an annual Professional Congress. The Hotel is a really convenient downtown hotel, and hotel cars and taxis are easily arrangeable! For personal activities and needs, Fountains is convenient to the central business and everyday shopping areas, and the "regular and good" restaurants of Cape Town. A number of the most famous touristic sites also are within no more than an easy half an hour walk away (in different directions) if one doesn't want to take a tour van or go direct by taxi. Fountains Desk and Concierge suggested interesting sites, and you'll find your own special ones while exploring the City: V&A Waterfront--rather pricey restaurants and shops--; the original Governor's Garden and Botanical Park; the original "Castle" (Fort) of Cape Town (go on a weekday for the 12 noon cannon firing that was earlier used to indicate the time to ships at anchor in the harbor); the Planetarium with presentations of the S Hemi sky, etc, . Fountains can also help your taking either (or both) the inexpensive Red or Blue Tour Bus Lines around Cape Town--where you get off and then back on when you're done with your specific tour-spot visit. The Concierge also can help you plan a cable car ride up to the top of Table Mountain (as early in your stay as possible). If your arms and legs are in shape, do the exciting "Abseil" (rappelling) from the top to a point quite a way down below the cliff-side mountain. Bring boots. One should make reservations--ask the Concierge for help getting the number for "AbseilAfrica." There are other African-and-imported--plant species gardens, and museums of the old Dutch and English colonies, and also of the recent political changes and their famous leaders. Fountains has a hotel car that can be reserved for any desired transportation around town, and to and from the airport. Very convenient and payable either in the car or can be added to your hotel bill. Finally, Fountains can help you call and reserve a space in a van or bus of the "Springbok Atlas" company to go down the Cape Peninsula, ending at the Cape of Good Hope! Very awesome spot on Earth. On the trip you can see ostriches and penguins and baboons along the way as well! All the Fountains staff--Desk Officers, chefs, wait staff, bartenders, bell men, and the several people who acted together as a really knowledgeable set of Concierges, were consistently smart, nice, approachable. friendly and always willing to help, and to rectify any need. I recommend tipping often, to show your appreciation and when appropriate, between 10 and 20 % , depending if you're at the bar, having your bags taken upstairs/downstairs, or a special service has been done for you. In my two week experience, ALL South Africans in the Hotel and on the street always were ready to answer, with no reservations, to any questions I might have about directions and/or recommendations for stores or help in determining where I was at that point! In sum, I recommend the Fountains to you. It is well situated in Cape Town, has very comfortable and well attended-to rooms, a very nice staff--across the board--and good accommodation fees (depending on the time of the year, I would assume). I would (and intend) to stay at the Fountains when I return to Cape Town. p.s. I was told often that late September into mid October (Spring in South Africa) is a perfect time to visit. Earlier in the Winter often there's rain and STRONG wind, and in the summer it is hotter--I never got a good answer regarding the HUMIDITY in a Cape summer, and never heard a review of a Cape Town autumn. Nevertheless, if it's hot, it'll be easier to jump into the waves at the many beaches! Be careful! Many thanks to Hotels.com !
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Lagos

Fountains Hotel St Georges Mall

Posted Oct 4, 2011 on Hotels.com
If you're looking for a fancy 5* hotel, keep looking, this is not one! It is what the ranking says, a 3* hotel. However, it is absolute value for money! The hotel is a neatly maintained modern high rise building and the staff are helpful. I stayed in the standard double room and it was comfortable and the shower always hot. The accomodation was more like a miniflat with ensuite room and kitchen/dining/living area which means if you decide to cook your own meals and not spend so much on eating out, you can do so conveniently (cooker, fridge, cultlery and cooking utensil are provided). Oh did I also mention that breakfast is part of the parckage? Bottom line, if I'm in Cape Town again and I'm on a limited budget, I would definitely stay at the Fountains and be assured of relative comfort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Manchester UK

fountains hotel cape town - well placed

Posted Sep 23, 2011 on Hotels.com
well placed hotel, able to walk to most local attractions, staff very friendly - food of a high standard and a clean hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Fountain Hotel , pleasant to stay.

Posted Sep 20, 2011 on Hotels.com
For our purpose the hotel was ideal to stay. In walking distance from railway station, good service, clean room, and friendly people.