Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Pleasant Surprise downtwon

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, restaurant, condition of room and facilities. More of a couples/single traveller crowd than family hotel.
Cons: Get a little more life up there on the rooftop bar
Location: right in the heart of it all
This hotel is a charmer! Friendly an helpful (but not clingy) staff. Wonderful restaurant (bright/cheerful/streetview) serves a perfect south african continental breakfast...(did not try for other meals). My room was exactly as described- single value room was in good condition and perfectly acceptable. The roof top bar was surpsigingly quiet - but pleasant. Right in the heart of things but an oasis of charm and character. I would stay again for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Stockholm

Long Streets finest!

Posted Jan 9, 2015
We spent the New Years at Grand Daddy Hotel and had a royal good time! We went dancing on the roof top and had such a fun night, took a lap on Long Street where we got to meet even more happy faces celebrating 2015. Even though it was probably the most busy and messy time of year on this address, we had a really good nights sleep. And the following days at Grand Daddy was just as enjoyable, the staff is great and the food is excellent. A special shout-out goes to doorman Germain for taking such good care of us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northants, UK

Quirky with quality

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Pros: Comfort, good service and good food
Cons: Bar opening arrangements - first floor ba was hardly ever open should have opened when the rooftop bar closed
Location: Central Cape Town location - good for city sightseeing and everything of interest was within walking distance. hop on hop off bus operated locally
I stayed in one of the suites in the hotel and food the room of a good size and the large double bed very comfortable - the airstram trailers on the roof were very quirky but really only suitable for a short stay. As they located on the roof where the most popular bar was the bar and music tended to close early - understandably. the weekly under the stars film night was a great idea and popular with visitors to the hotel. Food was excellent and I was very pleased with the personal service received during my stay. The hotel is situated very conveniently on Long Street right in the heart of the city. A great 10 days enjoyed at the Grand Daddy - I will hopefully return in the not too distant future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Außergewöhnliche Unterbringung im Zentrum

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Die zentrale Lage ermöglicht das Erreichen vieler interessanter Ziele zu Fuß.
Location: Zwischen Tafelberg und Waterfront ist alles mit dem Sightseeingbus zu erreichen. Haltestelle 100 m vom Hotel. Essen und Trinken alles möglich und nah.
Airstream Wohnwagen auf dem Hoteldach schaffen einzigartige Atmosphäre. Dies geht selbstverständlich auf Kosten des Komforts, besonders im Sanitätbereich. Zwar alles da, aber doch relativ einfach. Für Airstream Fan und alle die etwas Besonderes schätzen, kein Problem. Für Menschen, die Unterhaltung suchen, eine erste Adresse, für Ruhesuchende nicht optimal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Valentinafrom Chile

Loved it!

Posted Oct 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved it! People were super nice, rooms comfy and very central.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Elisabet

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Nicole

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Zfrom Chicago

This is THE Grand Daddy of hotels on Long Street!

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
I truly enjoyed my stay at Grand Daddy Hotel! The view was awesome- we faced Long Street in Cape Town! The room was very posh, modern, clean, comfy and relaxing! The breakfast was yummy and room service was fast and economical. I HIGHLY recommend that you give it a try! It's in a great location and has friendly staff. They include free internet. At the time of our stay, the hotel stated that they were working on improving their TV channel line-up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 13, 2014 on Hotels.com