Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Karin und Friedhelmfrom München

Hier wird man rundum verwöhnt!!

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wir haben uns sehr wohl gefühlt. Insbesondere der Service ist nicht zu toppen. Obwohl es drei Tage geregnet hat, haben wir die Zeit dort sehr genossen. Vielen Dank an alle!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Kleinod, das Seinesgleichen sucht

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Die Terrasse mit dem grandiosen Blick ist allein schon die Anreise wert. Die Lage, die Suiten, das ausgesprochen freundliche Personal, die Küche - es ist alles hervorragend und als Gast fühlt man sich ausgesprochen wohl! Es gibt wenige Hotels auf der Welt, die einen immer wieder anziehen wie das Grande Roche.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Peter Bfrom UK

Great hotel poor service

Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fantastic setting & construction /accommodation. Service & quality of most service was very poor with bad communication skills & apparent lack of training. Nothing like our previous excellent experience on prior visits.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Below expectations

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Pros: Location - views of Paarl
Cons: Better maintenance
We were checked into a room where the AC was defective. Although we reported the bad AC, it was not repaired which resulted in us changing rooms in the middle of the night
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by pAULfrom Uk

Posted Dec 16, 2013
Refined and relaxed, this is a truly stunning location with beautifully kept gardens and vineyards. The ambience was helped by very friendly and attentive staff, who went out of their way to ensure our holiday was perfect. Dining at Bosman's restaurant is a fantastic experience, whether outside on the verandah overlooking the mountains, or inside the beautiful main room. A wonderful and rejuvenating stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alexfrom Stockholm

Unfortunate incident on beautiful location

Posted Dec 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is a truly lovely. Unfortunately we had a scary incident when staff by mistake tried to get into our room during the night. We got extremely scared and unfortunately we were not informed of what had happened. We raised the question at 3 occasions but it wasn't until 2 weeks after our stay that we had a return email with a standard excuse from an assistant of the hotel. A 5 star hotel should know better how to handle incidents.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Buggsi31from Teignmouth, Devon

Wow, what a welcome to South Africa!!

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Pros: Almost everything, this place is great.
Cons: Servers at breakfast were a little inconsistent but nothing major just a niggle.
Location: Wine is BIG on this patch and wine tasting and eating great food is the order of the day. To work up an appetite you could climb Paarl mountain.
We arrived at Grande Roche rather frazzled, having flown in on the night flight from the UK, desperately in need of a comfy bed and some TLC. From the moment that we pulled up at the gate our experience was outstanding. The huge smiles, glass of fizz and comfy sofa's instantly soothed. Our room was ideal, the complimentary treats were just delicious and the bed the most comfortable we have come across for a while. The room was spacious and well equipped, we particlarly liked the fantastic walk in shower. Waking to glorious African sunshine in this lovely setting was a great way to start another adventure, Paarl mountain rises directly behind Grande Roche with an outlook over vine yards and distant mountains, just perfect! Breakfast is an extensive buffet with additional freshly cooked options also availalble, there really is something for everyone all fresh, all good quality and all very relaxed. We just wish we knew how great Grande Roche was before we arrived, we would have stayed longer!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely vineyard surrounds, romantic, breath taking

Posted Oct 26, 2013
Pros: vineyard surrounds and views
Cons: the rooms decor
Location: rated 5 out of 5. great restaurants and quaint cafes
the staff are manificent, best service ever, the staff's attention to detail and special care for their guests is remarkable. the staff maketh the whole great memorable experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Aina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

5-Sterne in Paarl

Posted Mar 31, 2013
Pros: das professionelle Team
Cons: nichts
Location: Blick auf Paarl und die Weinberge
Ein wirkliches 5-Sterne Haus. Empfang, Zimmer, Restaurant, Personal, Pool. Alles bestens.