Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cheshire

Great location in Cape Town

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, breakfast options, car parking
Location: Location is great, close to bars and restaurants, museums and gardens, and a few minutes drive to Table Mountain, or down to the Waterfront
The hotel is in a fantastic location in the Gardens area, close to lots of bars and restaurants and an easy walk into town. The staff are lovely, helpful and informative. I love the idea of being able to have breakfast in a different location every morning - we stayed for 5 nights and ate at 5 different places within just a few minutes of the hotel. Secure car parking is also available, which is great to have in this particular area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice to Stay

Posted Feb 12, 2015
A nice and clean room and a good hospitality. Also good location - close to many reastaurants, souvenior stores, a main stop of sight seeing bus and so on. I had a several times of interruption of power supply for 3 nights stay in February 2015, but it happened all over Cape Town and was not the hotel's fault.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

nice and clean

Posted Feb 10, 2015
This hotel is clean and bright in a good location with a nice restaurant. For breakfast they give you a coupon and you can go to one of five local cafes. We went to two of them and they were both excellent. The hotel is suitable for a couple only because the shower is glass and right in front of the bed. Also the pool is so tiny that no one would use it. However, we didn't need to use it and had a great stay. The room is very spacious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bristol, UK

Lovely place and staff

Posted Feb 10, 2015
I stayed here for 2 nights when I arrived in Cape Town. The hotel itself was very comfortable and staff were amazing. I booked an airport transfer and the driver was so friendly and helpful especially as my luggage was lost en route. He later too me to the waterfront to buy some much needed clean clothes for the next day. The reception staff were brilliant and so welcoming which is lovely when you are travelling alone. They also helped with the taxis I needed and ensured my luggage was placed in my room when it eventually arrived from Dubai. I didn't get breakfast but it's nice to have the option of a number if places to choose from. The area seems safe and lively. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland New Zealand

Conveniently located hotel in Gardens

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Pros: Location, the rooms, free wi-fi, parking on site
Cons: Staff didn't advise us to buy tickets for Table Mountain cable car online to avoid the 45 minute queue
Location: convenient location for visiting Table Mountain, the city and V&A Waterfront. There are many restaurants in the area
We stayed at the Hippo for two nights in January 2015. The hotel's location in Gardens is convenient for visiting Table Mountain, the city and V&A Waterfront (we hired a car). The rooms are great, very spacious and there is a kitchenette with a microwave, fridge and kettle. The staff are very friendly. Breakfast was included in the price and as the hotel doesn't have its own restaurant we had a choice between four restaurants close by for breakfast. Overall we had a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it!

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Only downside was not having an outlet I bathroom. Everything else was perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom illinois

Great find!

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Excellent hotel and good value. Would easily recommend and would stay there again. Nice rooms, clean, great staff, good location, good English breakfasts. It's a find and good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cheshire.. UK

Amazing place to stop in Cape Town

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: Pretty much every thing
Cons: Nothing at all
Location: Great location... Loads of bars / cafes / restaurants within 5 mins.. the waterfront, table mountain etc are all only a £4 cab ride away
This is a fantastic place to stop in Cape Town and we could not fault it. I could on for ages about it, but in brief ... .. Great location 50m off Kloof St and minutes away from great restaurants & bars in Long St & Kloof St. .. Breakfast can be taken in any of 5 great cafes in the area around the hotel, all great and included in the room rate .. Staff are super helpful and very friendly. .. Room is big and well finished off and it was immaculately clean and kept this way every day by the cleaner. .. There is a great cafe/ restaurant/bar downstairs called the "Fat Cactus". It is always busy and buzzing but as it is 50m away from the main drag could so easily be missed. Eat and drink there, you'll have a fab time. I don't normally enthuse about hotels in reviews like this, but in our opinion, if you miss out in stopping in Cape Town, you'll be really missing out...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Well located, clean hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean, safe hotel. Great location near some good restaurants, bars etc. Free wifi, gated underground parking and good hot breakfast. Only slight issue was room lacked certain basic amenities eg. no tissues, had large containers of shampoo, cleansers etc- that could be easily opened so you can't be certain if previous visitors have tampered with products. And the room my friend stayed at was pretty noisy (at front of hotel) and phone did not work (though phone in our room did-so he just came by and used ours when needed). Besides that highly recommend!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Aprilfrom Philadelphia

Happy at Hippo!

Posted Nov 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wonderful accommodation. Close to bus line. Quiet. Friendly staff. Feels like home.