Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Theo from Singapore

Nice hotel in the middle of city center

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: -Location wise, very centralized, however hotel is not located near the road, had some difficulty locating the hotel while driving in the car.
Cons: A fridge will be good to be in the room.
Location: -5 minutes drive to V&A Waterfront. -Opposite the hotel, there's a Food Lover's Market(Closed on weekends)
-Short drive to everywhere. -Food Lover's Market directly opposite the hotel(However, closed on weekends). -No fridge
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by SydneyBender from Sydney Aus

Great city location

Posted Jan 18, 2014
Pros: Location - If you like being in the city
Cons: Breakfast could be more smooth, sometimes tricky to find clean cutlery, they should just have a cutlery station during very busy periods.
Location: Long street, shops and night life ; Green market square for African curios ; Cape Gardens and museum ; Table mountain
This is a nice Hotel in St George's Mall, close to the bustling long street. I stayed here over the New Year period and I had a pleasant stay. The hotel was fully book and this resulted in breakfast being chaotic and sometimes tricky in finding a spare seats. The daily 100 free Wi-fi was also useful. I needed to store my luggage for a week while travelling somewhere else and the staff were quite happy to store it for me. Parking is limited and requires booking if you want to get a spot. The room I was staying in had an aircon problem, but this was fine as the view made up for it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jacqui from Texas USA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jon

Pleasant stay.

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: Location, helpful staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by T.O.Adventurer from Toronto

Reliable Holiday Inn

Posted Dec 1, 2013
Pros: A room where you open the curtains in the morning & have a view of Table Mountain (depending on the "Tablecloth"). Nice buffet-type breakfast choices
Cons: It's located along a pedestrian mall so if you have a car, getting at the very limited parking garage is tricky.Vending machines would be handy.
Location: Located a couple minutes from Company's Gardens which is a nice, quiet spot within the busy city. Short walk to the many restaurants&bars on Long St.
Checked in on the day of a protest at the nearby Western Cape government building and the area was in lockdown mode. Due to police road blocks, couldn't get to the hotel by car so had to find a parking garage and walk from there. It was somewhat inconvenient and weird hauling luggage around in the midst of all this but the staff at reception were very nice and assured me that my car was safe where I parked it (there was sporadic looting going on). The room was what you would expect from Holiday Inn. Very clean with the basics. It had a good selection in the breakfast area although it was packed: looks like a lot of tour groups use the hotel. It was conveniently located 5-10 minutes away from the many different shops, bars and restaurant choices along Long Street and at no time did I feel unsafe walking around at night alone. I like to walk and explore a city on foot and this was within walking distance of the Castle of Good Hope, Bo-Kaap and even the V&A waterfront is only a 25 minute walk. If you are looking for a clean, reliable, no-frills hotel without all the bells and whistles, this fits the bill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by philip from brighouse, england

paraplegic room

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Pros: town centre location close to all amenities walking distance to the water front, restaurants and bars on long street.all staff really realy friendly.
Cons: more sign posts to direct you into hotel.self propelled commode/shower chair for the paraplegic room would make it easier for anyone with joint problm
Location: plenty of bars/restaurants nearby, easy walking distance to the waterfront. loved the staff in the wimpy next door handy if you miss breakfast.
i am a paraplegic, stayed in the paraplegic room with wet room and shower seat, w/c and bed at the right height for transferring.queen bed in the room.bedroom and bathroom really spacious. the room as a adjoining room if require, which my 2 friends stayed in which was very convieniant for are 9 night stay theere. the only thing i would suggest in the bathroom is a self propelled commode/shower chair .has i have no shoulder joint in one shoulder and a replacement joint in the other which just made it abit of a struggle transferring for me. otherwise for anyone else wont be a problem. all the staff on the desk, bar, car park attendants and housekeepers really friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble. would definetley stay here again.located in the centre of cape town convienient close to all amenities. needs more sign post to direct you into the hotel, easy to keep driving past it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2013
Pros: Location great. Right next to Green Market and within easy reach of good restaurants.
Cons: A restaurant in the hotel would have been good incase you were tired in the evening. Otherwise no complaints. Reception staff particularly ngood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ed from Atlanta

Treasure in Capetown

Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Holiday Inn Capetown is a fabulous location. The fact that Valet parking is available (50 Rand per day) is a tremendous convienance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Rings455 from India

Overall good experience

Posted Jun 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was in Cape town for a couple of days and my overall experience in the hotel was good. The staff members were cordial and nice. I wish they had given me better pillows but other than that I have no complains..