Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Jamie from Seattle

OK but wouldn't stay again

Posted Mar 31, 2014
First we arrived the door to the road was for some reason blocked. You had to walk all the way around to the other side to the other entrance. This would have been fine has we not had excursions that required us to wait uncomfortably in what felt like an unsafe culture De sac. We had to change rooms as the first one had mold all over the floor in the bathroom. The second room was nice enough expect the window wouldn't shut all the way causing us to be woken up multiple times by the noise in the square in the middle of the night. There is only free wifi if you don't stay in their hotel but there is if they put you next door where I got the impression they are sub letting some rooms from an apartment building. They gave you vouchers for 30 mb/day. It was not working half the time and when it did we also had to sit by the door because we didn't get service anywhere else I our room. They advertised free shuttle to the waterfront. There is no such thing. We had to pay a taxi or the driver from a company they contract out to which will cost you about R50. No one mentioned to tell us how close we were it was about a 10 min walk to the waterfront. The staff there all acted like we were an annoyance, other then David one of the waiters. He was the only one that was helpful to us. Dinner was good breakfast was a joke my plates and tables were continually dirty while staff stood around and talked to one another. Reception is not there.Stay at the Radisson across the street.
2 out of 5
by A.D. from Atlanta

I won't be back

Posted Jul 10, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Lack of heat
I stayed in the Green Annex instead of the main part of the hotel. There were issues with the heat, internet connectivity, and TV - all which functioned randomly. You have to stay in the room to keep the heat on to get it warmed up - it finally reached 66 degrees in the room by morning. I'll stay elsewhere on my next trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paddy from Lagos, Nigeria

Hollow on the square, Cape Town

Posted Apr 13, 2012
I stayed in the hotel annex and the room was very nice. The hotel is in a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Gaborone, Botswana

Green Annexe

Posted Mar 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
I stayed at the new Green Annexe of the hotel and it was fantastic... Older part of the hotel was not quite as good but still fine, would definitely recommend booking, but request the Green Annexe if possible!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Central and comfortable

Posted Mar 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very central and comfortable hotel, however the service was very mixed. The reception staff and Concierge were very efficient and helpful. The waiting and bar staff were a mixed bunch. Nonetheless I would recommend this hotel based on cost and convenience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

not for the light sleeper

Posted Mar 14, 2012
If you are a hard sleeper, this is a good economic option to be walking distance to the water front. The only bad thing is that we were woken up each monring by loud base music. I'm not sure who works to base music or what student wakes up at 7:30AM, but it was annoying two days in a row and once at night. However, the hotel staff was great about quickly rectifying the situation each time. The fact that it happened 3 times in our 2 night stay was disappointing and makes me wonder who their nieghbors are.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, New York

Hearty Breakfast Included!

Posted Mar 2, 2012
Pros: Breakfast
Location: Convenient. Restaurants, craft market and some sightseeing are within walking distance.
Clean, comfortable and did the job. The buffet breakfast is wonderul and not just because it was included! You can get a full English breakfast and everything from fresh squeezed fruit juice to cereal and made to order omelets. If you wish to try something new and different, there are exotic delicacies on the menu!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brian from Cambridge, UK

Cape Town

Posted Feb 16, 2012
Pros: Staff
Cons: Lift...bit noisy
Location: Very good for shopping, eating and access
Very friendly and helpful staff. Good location with a variety of eating establishments. Quality and quantity breakfasts, good beer and Sky news.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Pretoria, South Africa at the moment

Hollow on the Square

Posted Aug 10, 2011 on Hotels.com
The was a good low-cost hotel. My biggest complaint is about the bed.....they need to be replaced, but it had the most comfortable pillows of any hotels that I've stayed in South Africa. There is construction across the courtyard that may impair coming/going in the morning. We were a family of 4 with 2 children under the age of 8. Our room one-bedroom had a queen bed and double bed. The staff was nice and friendly and the breakfast was good. I would probably rate this as a 2+ star hotel compared to hotels in the US.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Hanoi

Home away from home

Posted Jul 19, 2009
The service of the staff was outstanding and certainly made up for the maintenance problems. The first day we had no hot water and they offered to move rooms for us but we liked our room and luckily the hot water came back the next day. The breakfast was awesome. Great location as well.