Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Great stay here!

Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed two nights - the hotel staff were very helpful in recommending restaurants, spas, and helping us make reservations. The hot breakfast they made us to order was excellent!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carolann from UK

Quaint

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Pros: Sitting on the verandah in the morning
Cons: The room decor and air conditioning. Also the bed and pillows were very hard.
Location: Perfect position for town with its shops & restaurants. You can book a Tram/Trolley tour of the vineyards which is well worth doing.
We arrived early but our rooms were not ready so we stowed our luggage at reception and wandered around the town. Once ready our cases were placed in the room ready for us on our return. Our room was on the upper floor and although entry was very tight once upstairs the Room opened out and was spacious. The room was a little tired and could do with a lick of paint, the air conditioning also struggled to cope with heat. We had a Jacuzzi on the deck outside along with two sun beds so we didn't need to use the pool. Breakfast was served out on the verandah at the back which had a lovely view through the garden out to the mountains. The staff were always very friendly and happy to help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mike from Boston

Right in Town

Posted Mar 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
It is perfect for a charming weekend in Franschhoek. The surrounding neighborhood is safe and quaint and it is right in town; you can walk to everything. Will stay there whenever I am in Franschhoek.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elaine & Peter from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK

Great location. Shame about the lack of a fridge

Posted Mar 2, 2013
Pros: Location and ambience
Cons: No fridge and dressing table location
Location: Just a short walk to the centre of Franschhoek.
The location is a few minutes walk from the centre of Franschhoek. You can go out of the garden gate and just cross the road and into the rear entrance of Reuban's restaurant, it's that close to the centre but so peaceful. The ambiance is first class and furnished with antiques. The breakfasts are very good and sitting on the terrace overlooking the beautiful garden is idyllic. Our only complaints are: 1. No rooms are supplied with fridges. 2. Our room had the dressing table in the bathroom but no power point for a hair dryer. Also the mirror over the dressing table was too high. The bedroom was large and there was plenty of room to accommodate the dressing table in the bedroom. Why do hotel owners not actually sleep in their rooms sometime to find our the problems rather than leave this to their guests.i
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming Place; Strong Recommendation

Posted Feb 9, 2012
We stayed in the room with its own, private, little pool. The staff was lovely, recommending places to eat, offering us in-house access to a small wine cellar, and the room came with a decanter of port (a nice touch). The breakfast was lovely, in the outstanding front garden. The location is very central to the small town of Franchhoek (easily walkable). The stay, overall, was worth every penny and we would recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Klein olifants hoek in Franschoek

Posted Aug 24, 2011 on Hotels.com
Excellent hospitality
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Wauwatosa, WI

Dr

Posted Aug 8, 2011
pleasant old house with big fireplace. 2 blocks from the main street so could eat and drink lots of wine and still walk back to hotel (without driving).
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New York

Perfect Stay

Posted Dec 13, 2009
If you are visiting the wine region close to Cape Town, this is a wonderful hotel that is worth every penny. It's excellent staff makes you feel welcome and they would cater to all your requests with a smile. The food is excellent and it makes you feel that you are in an exclusive location, yet you are only 2 blocks away from the main strip in Frankschhoek. It is a perfect place after a day of wine tasting in the region.