Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by BURGERT A MULLER from Johannesburg

Lovely hotel

Posted Jan 14, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely hotel with Friendly staff. TV channels are limited.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Worst Part of Our Trip to Cape Town

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: I appreciated that this hotel was located pretty centrally to some of our favorite Cape Town spots, like Arnolds. I also liked that they had a pool.
Cons: Every aspect of this hotel aside from the located could be improved.
Location: Table Mountain. Arnolds. Long Street. Garden Center. It's all close by.
We booked this hotel for four nights. When we checked in they charged us for all four nights. Then when we got to the room it stunk of mold, I couldn't allow my pregnant wife to spend a night there. Upon informing the manager that we wanted to check out early, they refused to refund ANY of our money. I am currently trying to work with Expedia to get some of my money back. The Lady Hamilton Hotel is dirty, aesthetically unappealing, and is managed in a sleazy manner. However, they take excellent pictures for their web advertising.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by saurabh from johannesburg

BAD

Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is not structured well. When you are sleeping the noise of other tourists disturbs you at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

The price was affordable

Posted Dec 17, 2014 on Hotels
it was wonderful it was our 1st wedding night just thought they would just maybe if it even just was a card to congratulate us.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bernard from Miami, FL

Over Priced

Posted Dec 6, 2014 on Hotels
Disappointed for the money I paid. No elevator for a 4 story building. Had to wait for someone to open the gate for parking as opposed to automatic gate. The check in time was too late @ 2 pm. And the shower stall was a little clogged and drained slowly coupled with a short shower curtain.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Needs some serious work

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels
The cleaning staff are excellent, the breakfast staff are helpful, and the front desk staff are very polite. Other than that. There is nothing good about this hotel. We had 3 rooms between us and two of the rooms were changed mid stay. The problems we had were: 2 broken safety deposit boxes 1 broken hairdryer 2 broken air cons (one leaking) 1 cockroach 1 room with no curtains over one window so very, very bright first thing in the morning 2 toilet doors that wouldn't close (in one (room 115) you had to lift the toilet lid to close and open the door) 1 broken shower (cold tap didn't work) In addition to this there were a few broken lights in the corridor and the wifi doesn't really work in any of the rooms. Whilst polite, the front desk staff were very unhelpful. I had to ask 6 times for my safety deposit box to be fixed and each time they knew nothing of it. Eventually I asked to be moved rooms. I also booked double rooms but these were in fact twin beds pushed together with separate duvets. The hotel's location is good but it is honestly a dump. The tour guide for our wine tour laughed that it is the 'Fawlty Towers of Cape Town'. It needs some serious work to bring it up to a 3* standard. It is cheap but really, Cape Town is a very cheap place, your money is far better spent elsewhere. Even if it's slightly further out, taxis are very very cheap.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels
it was indeed a best place to be. l enjoyed my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Francois from Johannesburg

Great Value

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels
This is a great value for money hotel - recommended by friends and it did not disappoint!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Great Value/Charming Hotel

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels
The Lady Hamilton is not only really cute and conveniently located, it has air con, a great view of the surrounding neighborhood, and delicious coffee.