Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Helenfrom Canada

Very nice stay

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Nice view
Location: Shopping is near by. Easy to drive to Simon Town, Fish Hoek, and the Cape of Good Hope park which has a lot of walking trails and some wreck ship.
I booked this hotel for my husband and myself to explore the Penisula region of Cape Town. It turns out to be a very wise choice. We rented a car and this hotel is close to most of the attractions. My husband was particularly excited about the surroundings: it is at the edge of the village and right at the foot of a hill. The little hut was very private with very nice views. The owners are very nice and helpful. Would definately recommend it to anyone who like the closeness to the nature.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by sixaillefrom England

amazing

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed two nights while in cape town. Owners are amazing, very friendly. Just round the corner from Chapman's peak drive, very quiet area and amazing view. Will definitely book again if I go back to cape town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Alison

Lovely Relaxing Location - Great TV and Internet!

Posted Feb 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed our 9 nights at Makapa Lodge. We had a poolside suite & were very pleased on arrival when we realised how much space we had. A separate lounge with large TV (plenty of channels with a choice of hollywood style movie channels), two comfy armchairs, desk & fridge. The bedroom was large with big comfy bed. Outside we had our own section by the pool. We also had access to the large beautiful garden - lovely swing chair! We saw many birds - sunbirds,sugarbirds, strikes, mouse birds etc.. The wireless internet was good . I need this daily for my business and we were never without a connection for the whole 9 days. This is a great central location on the cape peninsula. Just a few minutes’ drive to the seaside towns in the area and the beautiful Cape Point where we saw bontebok & ostriches - Buffels Bay is fabulous. Alternatively we also headed up to Cape Town that wasn’t far to drive so the lodge was a great location for many options. The security was good. The garden is enclosed with big high gates. The owners Ian and Margaret were always around to help and we loved the breakfast on the terrace. Ian is very knowledgeable about the local wildlife and gives great tips where to go for the day. Margaret's breakfasts were great. She will cook your egg to perfection for you. Best poached eggs we have ever eaten! A great place, we had a lovely time - the sort of place that makes you want to stay in rather than go out for the day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alicefrom Scotland

Lovely place to relax and unwind

Posted Jun 15, 2012
A lovely guest house in the sleepy village of Capri on the cape peninsula. A fantastic place to relax and unwind and a great base to explore the area. We would recommend hiring a car, which Ian and Margaret are more than happy to organise for you.We had a fantastic 3 days here, a lovely way to finish our honeymoon, and we would love to visit again! The suites are beautiful, with lots of space and Ian and Margaret are lovely and make you feel incredibly welcome, and are always good for a chat! Thank you for a wonderful experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marionfrom Kent UK

Great place to stay.

Posted May 19, 2012
Pros: The hospitality of Margaret and Ian. The comfortable rooms. The great views
Cons: N/A
Location: Ideal for any part of the Cape Peninsular and CT. Situated at the top of a quiet cul-de-sac with countryside around, but close to local amenenties.
A big thank you to Margaret and Ian for helping to make the last three days of our stay in South Africa so enjoyable. An excellent choice of breakfast to start the day, helpful advice about places to visit, routes to take etc. A modernised and comfortable suite to return to afterwards. Great views of the Atlantic Ocean - what a fantastic sunset you have! Thank you too with the help of booking online our boarding cards for our return flight. I would strongly recommend Makapa Lodge and Margaret and Ian's hospitality. Makapa is ideally situated for visiting Cape Town, Boulders Beach and Cape Point.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Cambridge,U.K

Cape Town

Posted Dec 31, 2011 on Hotels.com
Very nice, friendly hosts. spec was very high.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Nottingham

Surprise location

Posted Oct 5, 2011
Ideal location for all parts of the cape peninsular and only 15 mins into Capetown. Also found places we didn't know existed were it not for Ian and Margaret. Fantastic beach for walking and one of the best for surfing. Ian is well into his bird watching and is starting guided bird watching trips round the numerous reserves in the local area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Massachusetts

Very convenient for visiting Cape of Good Hope

Posted Aug 24, 2011 on Hotels.com
It's hard to go wrong with location around Cape Town, and Makapa Lodge is well situated between Nord Hoek, Fish Hoek, and Simon's Town - an easy drive to all three. The neighborhood is upscale and has beautiful views of mountains and ocean. The landscape is really beautifully done - lots of flowers and plenty of visiting bird life. Makapa is a half hour drive to Cape of Good Hope/Cape Point (and well worth going). We didn't meet Margaret and Ian as they were traveling during our visit, but the house is lovely. We stayed in the self catering "nest", which was very nice. The only complaint I had with the "nest" itself was that it doesn't have a proper shower, only a tub with a shower spray. The rest of the rooms seemed to have full baths. Despite that, I would definitely recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Fabulous place to stay!

Posted Aug 11, 2011
This B&B has beautiful rooms or suites. I saw all of the accomadations and the place is a great rest spot. The breakfast was great! The people that run the place are so kind. They waited on me hand and foot. The view of the beach is beautiful. It is very clean and the suites are very elegant. The little cabin I stayed in is fun. This is a great deal for the price! The location is about 30-40 min from CapeTown.