Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom yorks

Nice hotel not too far from the airport

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: The staff were pleasant
Cons: Lifts would be good
Location: Not far from stellenbosch a lovely town and near lots of winerys
Visited this hotel 12 years ago it was very good , but it could do with updating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fine for a night

Posted Mar 2, 2015 
This is a large 'corporate' hotel setup to handle large functions and conferences. The rooms and amenities are good but not outstanding. Service is efficient and friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, Canada

Lord Charles - disappointed

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Location is good, parking plentiful. Pools nice.
Cons: No face cloths in the bathroom.
At check-in, the receptionist seemed flustered and our room was not ready, even though we were somewhat late for checking in. The pools were nice. The hotel was in many places in a state of neglect and clearly worn down. Table cloths dirty. Had to ask for coffee and service, staff was not attentive. None of these deal breakers, but somewhat disappointing. WiFi was very, very poor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

REASONABLE HOTEL CLOSE TO FACITIES and AIRPORT

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Location, facilities for swimming, room service, a la carte restaurant.
Cons: Services mentioned above
Location: Reasonable shopping facilities and beach within driving proximity. Close to Cape Town, wine route and related tourist attractions
We were not provided with the quality of rooms and locations that we had booked. The hotel however accomodated this problem after two nights and we were able to spend the remaining five nights in reasonable rooms. However the extra bed for which we had paid extra was not provided at all for one night and when eventually provided was uncomfortable. Certain services such as an outside umbrella were only provided for one of the rooms and not for another. This only happened after repeated requests and only for three of the seven days. The comlimentary tea bags and milk was not rplenishede after the first two days. The quality of breakfast was excellent. The a la carte restaurant food was well prepared and of good quality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Grahamfrom UK

Recommend great service and excellent location

Posted Oct 30, 2014 
just steyed the one night. Old hotel, but looked after and in a great location. Friendly staff and excellent service, would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Marcofrom Port elizabeth

Good Hotel but very bad condition.

Posted Sep 1, 2014 
Gits a beautiful Hotel but very bad condition. Toilet door Handles felt off. Breakfast was good thanks. M
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

Charming Lord Charles!

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The great hospitality of the accommodation and Lounge area which made you feel at home!
Cons: We did not feel that there was much needed in the way of improvement.
Location: Close to all shopping centres, restaurants and beaches and wine routes and places of interest!
We had a wonderful experience during our 3 week stay at The Lord Charles! From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome by the friendly staff. The facilities were user friendly and comfortable. The restaurant and service was excellent and the food was at a high standard! Great staff and chef! It was very sad to leave as we felt like family. We will certainly be back there next year! Well done and thanks to all at The Lord Charles :) P&A New Zealand
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by meshackfrom johannesburg

Posted Apr 15, 2014 
great location. value for money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 14, 2014 
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor service

Posted Mar 17, 2014
I had booked a superior room, with a terrace / patio / balcony. At arrival, there was no such room available - although paid for in full when I made the booking. The room they gave me was old and filthy. Full of cigarette burnmarks on carpet, bathroom filthy, and a lot of hair laying on linnen....... Not my hair! Shower had no shower head, with the result that everything in the bathroom got wet after having a shower. I am not coming back - waste of money and energy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2014
We sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations with regards to the rooms, facilities and bathrooms. We have taken your feedback into account and will take action wherever possible. We assure you of our best attention always and hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Warmest regards, The NH Management Team