Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Beverley from London

Wonderful Location

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, free parking offered
Cons: bath towels are like hand towels and it would be good if one could get bath sheets... wifi connectivity.
Location: central to everything Spur within walking distance close to beach & shops, waterfront close by fantastic location.
We booked this hotel through expedia as part of a package deal and were not disappointed at all. I cannot commend the staff enough, they catered to every whim. We were in room 506 which is a Superior with King Bed and has a wonderful view of the sea. What better way to wake up to than to the sound of the sea crashing agains tthe rocks and the seagulls. Breakfast was plentiful and we never left the hotel hungry, there is always something for everyone, fruit, cereal, toast, eggs, juice, tea coffee pastries etc etc. Only gripe I have is that the towels are more like hand towels and I feel that bath sheets would be much better. Every other day we had to keep going to reception as our voucher codes let us down for wifi and also our key to the door kept losing entry and had to be rebooted. but no problem. Parking is free within the hotel as it is served by a shopping centre so if you do come and go during the day you will find this busy but we used to go out after breakfast and return later in evening and never had a problem at all. Checking in online the hotel allows this facility free of charge and also you can get ice bucket full of ice every evening and bring in your own drinks. Spar is very convenient but very expensive, worth the little further walk to checkers and you will be amazed at that selection.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fatfieldflyer from Washington UK.

Hotel in good location.

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: Free car parking is great and very safe.
Hotel is in ideal location for Sea Point, Bantry Bay, Camps Bay. And for local public MYCITI mini bus service to any where in Cape Town. Very clean and great staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel inconveniently not within shopping centre.

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: Clean, good service.
Location: Not right next to Gautrain, which was an inconvenience.
Safe to walk to shopping mall in daylight, but not at night. Inconvenient to pay for taxi or hotel service in order to get to mall and Guatrain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Tony C

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by SD from Sydney, Australia

Happy with our choice

Posted Jan 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were very happy with our choice to stay at this hotel. We requested an early check in which was granted to us, the room was clean and the service was friendly. A few times our room keys didn't work and we had to get them re-programmed by the front desk staff. We were a little disappointed that beach towels weren't provided, even though the brochure in the room said that they were. When the hotel is so close to the beach, it would be a nice touch to provide towels. Aside from that, very happy with our stay, and would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, just sort out the room keys!

Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good comfortable hotel. Breakfast is great, the rooms are well kept and the service offered by reception, bar and breafast is great. The only issue was having to constantly update the room key card and they were frequently not working. Even keeping them away from anything that could affect them didnt work. Our friends required the card updating everytime the left the room. Sort it out!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from london

outstanding breakfast

Posted Dec 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
a good value hotel. good location, handy car park. enjoyed staying there. highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jose Luis from Miami Beach

It is just GREAT!

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
I spent three nights here for vacations in Cape Town and it was just fantastic. Great location, great room, great view, friendly and helpful staff, yummy breakfast. The location in Sea Point is really convenient. If you come here, do not miss it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by JG from Washington, DC

Great value

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
The New Kings is great value, if you don't need reliable wifi. The location is outside the tourist center near the beach, and just upstairs from a shopping area with Woolworth's (groceries), post office, hair salon, boutiques, and juice/coffee/Asian dining options. The hotel staff is super friendly and helpful and the room spacious, but a little awkward with the glass shower in the corner. The only issue was the wifi, which wasn't very fast and seemed to go out every now and then. Otherwise, a great hotel at a nice price.