Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Jan 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
Great location, close to the water front, Camps Bay and easy access to he city center. Great service, super friendly stuff. The room I had was nice, big bed clean and spacey shower. The only 2 things I felt were missing is having any sort of vegetables for breakfast and also the reception was not always occupied so once or twice I needed to wait a little to get assistance. Otherwise I would definitely recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Olaf's Guesthouse - good base for Cape Town visit

Posted Jan 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
Olaf's was very pleasant, and convenient as a base for a short stay in Cape Town. The Hop On Hop Off bus stop is a handy few minutes' walk away, which proved a bonus. Friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Napa, CA

A real highlight!

Posted Jan 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel was so charming-from chocolates on the pillows to the fantastic included breakfast-this place had it all! Would highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, United Kingdon

Highly Recommended, Home from Home :)

Posted Nov 10, 2011
Location: Table Mountain, was a great experience, some of our party walked up and the more sensible group took the cable car, the views on the top are amazing and not to be missed. Boulders Beach is where you can find Penguins which I never knew lived in this country. Cape Point and the Cape of Good hope where the two oceans meet are spectacular to view. I didn't manage to go to Seal Island but others told me it was well worth a visit. The sunset boat trip is a definite must for some spectacular views.
We booked this hotel after trawling through a vast list of others in Cape Town and decided to go with the good reviews for Olaf's. Boy were we not disappointed! it was lovely, the owner was so friendly and made time to talk to each of the guests each morning and the staff couldn't be faulted either on their friendliness, service with breakfast of the cleanliness of the hotel/rooms, nothing was too much trouble. There was free access to a laptop for internet use and the feeling that you were at home whist you were there, they operate an honesty bar so drinks both alcohol and non alcoholic were available whenever you liked you just need to mark it against your room and there was chocolate/crisps if you got the munchies and couldn't be bothered to go out to buy some. It is only a 10 min taxi drive away from the main Waterfront which is full of restaurants, shops, craft markets and boat trips. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to South Africa and got to see some amazing sights make time to go on a sunset boat trip you will not be disappointed. We would definitely go back to Olaf's on our next visit and can not recommend this hotel highly enough to all others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Lloydminster,Saskatchewan, Canada.

Posted Oct 24, 2011 on Hotels.com
Olaf,s was a clean, quaint,friendly hotel. The staff were helpful and did all they could to accomadate us. The location is not prime but it was fine for three adult males when travelling in the later hours after dark. The breakfast was a very nice alternative in a quiet old style atmosphere. I would highly recommend this for couples.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Refreshing stay

Posted Aug 17, 2011
I loved my three nights at Olaf's Guest House! It's great if you are looking for an island of crisp, clean European style comfort in Africa. Cape Town was at the end of my two week vacation, and I was more than ready for fast, free, reliable internet, billowy bedding and modern amenities. The breakfast was great (and free), you get eggs done to order with bacon. There's juice and coffee, bread, cheese, yogurt, fruit, and sliced meats laid out in the morning. All during the day there is a small refrigerator stocked full of drinks, payment is on the honor system - put your name on the sheet and what you took. Amazing. Raymond, the manager, was lovely as well. He called for cabs for me, he confirmed a tour, answered questions and was just generally very welcoming. Just don't let him tell you it's a short walk to V&A waterfront. It's 2.5 miles. I loved how small this place is as well, less than 20 rooms, very personal. I would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Wollongong, NSW, Australia

Friendly, convenient and welcoming

Posted Jun 10, 2011
After a longhaul journey from Australia with 2 small children, Olaf's was a welcoming destination. We were delighted with the accommodation and the location near parks and shops and within a short bus ride of all Cape Town's city attractions. Breakfasts were plentiful and all our food preferences were catered for.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from McDonough, GA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2011 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Iowa

We would go back

Posted Jul 14, 2010
Excellent accomodations and service, friendly and knowledgeable staff. Great breakfast and honor bar. Able to get around by walking or bus. Short walk to the soccer stadium. The only negative was parking is on the street. But we always found a spot and no one messed with the car. The guest house is very easy to get to.