Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by HeRo from Australia

Opinion

Posted Oct 9, 2012
Pros: location & restaurant
Cons: hard bed, tired fixtures and fittings
Location: ideal
Excellent location in the heart of the old section of Stellenbosch. Great restaurants and shopping nearby. 1802 restaurant in hotel excellent. Rooms overdue for upgrade
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

A hotel of two halfs..

Posted Mar 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
This is an old hotel that has recently had a major refurbishment and a new wing built onto the hotel. I booked a standard room and was very disapointed when I turned up. The room was in a very old fashioned style with no air con. However the hotel staff upgraded me to a room in the newly built extension which was fantastic. It had a very comfortable bed and was spacious and well designed. The hotel itself is in a fantastic location right in the middle of stellenbosch. The restaurant is nice and the staff are very helpful. All in all, a great place to stay as long as your room is in the new extension!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cardiff, Wales

Flawless and very friendly

Posted Mar 28, 2011
5 days at D'Ouwe Werf and nothing but the highest praise for the hotel and its staff. A wonderful place in the heart of old Stellenbosch but still calm and tranquil, and staff who gave us the warmest welcome and met every request promptly and with a smile. Really can't rate it highly enough.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Haven, CT

Good Room, Bad Hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2011 on Hotels.com
I would like to give a good review for the Werf hotel, but I cannot. The room was beautiful. The location is perfect, right in the center of town. I just had too many other problems. 1. When I was picked up at the airport the the car smelled heavily of smoke. I had to open the window it was so intense. 2. The internet did not work in my room. I was told I could come down to the loby where the signal is stronger. Not adequate. 3. Even I wanted to use the internet they charged a fee higher than any hotel I have seen in the US. It may change over time, but for me they wanted R120 for 24 hours. Crazy. 4. The door to my room did not lock unless you pulled hard and a little up. The cleaning staff did not know this, and when I came back to my room at the end of the day all you had to do was gently push the door for it to open. Nothing was stolen, but anyone could have walked right in! 5. When I went to the restaurant for breakfast in 15 minutes 2 people asked me if I wanted coffee, which was nice, but nobody asked if I wanted to order off the menu. I eventually got up and left. I told that front desk and they did not seem to care. 6. When I checked out I reminded them my room did not lock and that I had not been able to get breakfast, which was included in my room. They said sorry, kind of, and then charged me for the 2 waters I had from the room. No credit for the breakfast. No waiver of the waters. So, in summary the room is gorgeous. It truly is. The location is perfect to enjoy town and use as a base for wine country. It is just badly run and the internet does not work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scotland, United Kingdom

Great spacious S/C apartment

Posted Dec 15, 2010
Selfcatering suite clean, exceptionally spacious and well furnished . Comfy bed with kitcken well provided for. Coffee/Tea provided. Location great with eateries outside your door and everything of interest in easy walking distance. Valet parking very good and a great benefit. Staff cheery and helpful. Great breakfast.. Once the renovation work is completed Im sure I would have ticked all the boxes 5.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London UK

Good location, hotel might be good one the refurbishment is completed

Posted Nov 16, 2010
The hotel was excellently located in the middle of Stellenbosch - the main town was all within 5 minutes walk including a good range of restaurants, bars and cafes. The information centre was also near by. The hotel was not straightforward to find, as it was hidden by scaffolding, though the two porters standing outside realized that we might be looking for the hotel and flagged us down. The hotel was undergoing the early stages of a refurbishment which we were unaware of until we arrived. The noise was limited to normal office hours whilst we were there and did not notably impact on our stay - this might have been the reason for the 50% discount! The rooms was a little tired but in keeping the 'old fashion' style of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

D' Ouwe Werf Hotel in Stellenbosch

Posted Nov 1, 2010 on Hotels.com
Our stay at D' Ouwe was an amazing end to our holiday. When he arrived the recption staff were friendly and helpful and gave us advice on some of the best wine tours. They also then booked one for us and advised us on some of the best restaurants in the area. Our room was very clean and had well above what we expected for the price. I would 100% return here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Leicester UK

Fabulous hotel in Stellenbosch

Posted Oct 22, 2010
We stayed in the apartments in the hotel and they were extraordinary! Huge and extremely well furnished with very comfortable beds and furniture. Excellent kitchenette and patio. The breakfasts were fantastic and the option of eating outside really attractive for warm summer mornings. The staff were excellent and very friendly and helpful. Car parking (free) was a superb bonus allowing us to walk everywhere. Overall this was a wonderful experience and fantastic value for money. We would strongly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Mableton, Georgia

A Pleasant Way to Spend Time in Stellenbosch

Posted Sep 20, 2010 on Hotels.com
This excellent hotel is located in what was once the first church in South Africa, so it has a lot of colonial charm. In fact the entire area is very touristy and quite relaxing. The hotel staff is extremely helpful and efficient. The grounds of the hotel are also quite beautiful; even though there was construction going on at the time of our visit. The hotel also has an excellent restaurant. There are also several good restuarants and eateries in close proximity. It's a great place for a romantic get-a-way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Breda, the Netherlands

Informal 5* hotel?!

Posted Aug 12, 2010
This is not a 5* property but it had some of the characteristics. Friendly staff, nice lobby, more than adequate room (incl. heated floor in bathroom.)