Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Tons of construction going on, starting at 8:30a. Really disappointing as the rest of the experience was fairly positive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

excellent

Posted Mar 17, 2015 on Hotels
Very enjoyable and nice. Quality
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gordon from Yorkshire

Shambolic!

Posted Feb 5, 2015 on Hotels
didn't realise is was the wine festival in stellenbosch when we booked so everything was either full or quite expensive. Arrived at 7pm and was given room 101. A quite simply terrible room on the ground floor immediately opposite reception and the front doors of the hotel which everybody has to walk past to get in and out, the window of the room literally opens up to the front of the hotel patio where all the hotels guests smoke and chit-chat. The second bedroom window opens on to a rather dingy alley at the side of the hotel. Quite simply an appalling room for the price paid. Asked to be moved and told we couldn't as the hotel was full. Told them I would simply not stay in that room and will go and find myself something elsewhere in town - somewhat reluctantly they moved us to a first floor room. Not really what I would regard as the luxury room booked but infinitely better than the first offering! Breakfast, whilst pleasant, is slow and staff seem to be rather disconnected. Throughout our two night stay not one single member of staff offered us any kind of welcoming smile - a truly terrible way to run a hospitality business and one which does not deserve my money ever again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lars from Gothenburg

Wonderful hotel in best location of Stelkenbosch

Posted Jan 1, 2015 on Hotels
A beautiful modern hotel on the best possible location in Stellenbosch. The nice restaurants are on your doorstep. Would love to return!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by R from England

Oak Aparment Single(Double) is outside main hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2014 on Hotels
Good position for tourists. Booked two Oak Apartment Singlew (Doubles supplied). No room safe - Hotels.com site wrong. The rooms were through an intercom controlled locked gate by the main hotel pool, up a narrow-step ladder type open staircase.The other end gate of this pedestrian lane/courtyard was only locked at night. The room had almost floor to ceiling height sash windows. One bar/restaurant opened via a back door into the courtyard, and another's outside tables were audible over the fence from the 1st floor rooms. One of the rooms booked had no working air conditioning and the non-functionality was known before occupancy was given (a fan had been put in), but was not immediately evident to me due to a power outage. The hotel was fully booked but an alternative room was provided late at night, as they could not get the air conditioner mended. Bottled water was not provided in these rooms, nor any general hotel information. The hotel room information book in the main hotel did not show the Oak Apartment rooms as part of the hotel at all! Breakfast and evening restaurant service was slow and had to be prompted, with flies a persistent problem - Probably due to building works which have now entered Phase 3, though the hotel website said they were due to finish at the end of November (Maybe they meant Phase 2??). A litre bottle of water in the restaurant was 75 ZAR! The Bistro opposite with Red lanterns does good food at reasonable prices and is very popular.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Hussein from cape town

local business traveller

Posted Dec 12, 2014 on Hotels
great location in central Stellenbosch; hotel was doing renovations but it did not affect us much; our rooms were next door to the hotel and access was not easy as the intercom was not always answered; the rooms were, however, comfortable, spacious and had all the expected amenities; Internet access was specified but this had a limit of 500MB; parking was specified but when I got there the parking was full and I had to park on the street - thankfully it was a safe area; breakfast was great. i would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Don't rent out in the middle of a major rehab

Posted Dec 7, 2014 on Hotels
The staff were great but honestly this hotel was in the midst of a MAJOR rehab.. I'm not talking about a bit of plaster here or there, or work going on on another floor. There was dust and noise and missing pieces of things everywhere! they should've just waited till a wing was done before putting customers through that. Also the room we stayed in was musty and leaving the door ajar for 2 hours didn't cure it. To their credit though, the staff were very courteous and the breakfast spread was fabulous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay and the service is outstanding!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Yve from Frankfurt

Sehr zentral gelegenes Hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Es bietet eine sehr gute Ausstattung der Zimmer, valet parking, gutes Frühstück. Die Atmosphäre ist ruhig und gediegen, das Personal wirkt etwas distanziert aber grundsätzlich aufmerksam. Das Haupthaus versprüht einen kolonialen Charme.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels