Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Neil from Cheshire

Excellent hotel

Posted Mar 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent hotel in central Stellenbosch with facilities to match - swimming pool, free secure parking area, very good buffet breakfast with some hot items cooked to order. I stayed in one of the apartments with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, terrace, lounge area and kitchen. Plenty of places to eat and drink nearby as well as good shops in an upmarket town. Was allowed use of Manager's computer to check in for return flight home. Hope to return to Stellenbosch and will definitely stay at the Oude Werf.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jenny from Sussex UK

Central friendly hotel with pool

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Central location in town with a pool. The staff are very helpful and attentive and it is good to see familiar faces on return.
Location: Central to town and close to golf and vineyards.
We have been visiting Stellenbosch for a few years and keep returning to this hotel. They have a great variety of rooms to suit all needs. Despite being central, once in the hotel it is really quiet and calm.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from Ottawa

Spacious apartment; great location.

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: The size of the two bedroom apartment and its location downtown in the old part of Stellenbosch.
Cons: More modern TVs and more more glassware in the apartment.
Location: Great location for exploring old Stellenbosch on foot and easy access to the main routes going to the wine districts.
We arrived at the hotel on a weekend that included the Stellenbosch Wine Festival and students return to the Univsersity. The staff checked us in efficiently and parked our vehicle in a secure underground space. We were shown to our two bedroom apartment which was spacious, clean and easily accessible. The breakfast was great and plentiful. The reception staff allowed his to use the office PC when it was needed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Malcolm from Sydney NSW, Australia

Disappointed

Posted Aug 16, 2013
Went there based on a recommendation of a trusted friend and was disappointed. All rooms are non- smoking but room has a definite odour. Most frustrating was tepid temperature of shower. Location is fantastic. Currently doing renovations which may have impacted experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Amy from FL

LOVELY!!!!

Posted Jul 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
SUCH A GREAT HOTEL....Quaint, with great service, and a very central location....can walk everywhere. Book the garden suite, you won't regret it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A first class experience.

Posted Mar 9, 2013
Pros: The rooms and the location/
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Central.
Everything about this hotel was excellent. We have no complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by DR

Delighted with this hotel. great location, lovely

Posted Jan 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is right in the centre of all the Stellenbosch, close to restaurants, shops, nice walks. The hotel's restaurant is charming in an outdoor covered courtyard- we really enjoyed our breakfasts there. The hotel has an older (historic section) and a newer section with modern rooms. We were on the newer section with a room on the mainfloor overlooking the pool and loved it. We can't comment on the rooms in the older section, but the common areas were charming. Front desk staff was great, very helpful and friendly. Marisa advised us regarding restaurants and did a perfect job. She was so excited for us when she was able to secure reservations at a couple of places and for good reason. Highly recommend this place for your stay in the Stellenbosch area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shannon from Maputo, Mozambique

Amazing Service, Stunning Room

Posted Jan 14, 2013
Pros: Fabulous service.
Location: Right in the middle of Stellenbosch.
This hotel has amazing service. There is one guy who seems to do everything, John, and he runs while doing it! It's a litle crazy, but impressive. The valet car parking is fabulous, and the restaurant setting has something for everyone: outside dining under a vine-covered pergola, or inside fancier seating. We were in a room in the old part of the hotel and it was stunning: old squeeky (but not too squeeky) hardwood floors, large room, beautiful furniture, fabulous mattress. The bathroom is uber-modern, with frosted glass doors, a huge bathtub and wonderful shower. And it's smack in the middle of Stellenbosch, with bistros across the street, down the street, around the corner, but also conveniently just a few blocks away from a supermarket.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Dave

Very nice hotel

Posted Jan 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent and friendly staff. The restaurant wasn't spectacular, but othewise the location, friendliness and comfort were superb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Favorite place to stay in Stellenbosch

Posted Dec 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
Have stayed here a few times and always happy with the experience. The location is perfect and the hotel very comfortable. Have never had a negative service experience here. The breakfast is also great with lots of options. Can't think of anywhere else I'd prefer to stay when staying within the town.