Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Aberdeen Scotland

Excellent Hotel with friendly helpful staff

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing except perhaps heating the outdoor swimming pool
Location: It's in a busy part of the city with lots of places to eat nearby. The red tourist bus can be caught nearby on Long Street which makes travelling easy
We really enjoyed our stay at the Pepperclub. We had a suite which was ideal for our needs as a family with two children. Breakfast was varied and the staff kept freshly cooked and baked products coming to the tables even when nearing the the end of the breakfast period which was great (and unusual for most hotels we have stayed in) The free transport to Camps Bay beach and use of their changing facility there was a real bonus as was the 64 seater cinema at the hotel which can be hired by guests. My birthday treat was watching a Harry Potter movie with my two young children spilling the hotel supplied popcorn in the aisles. For a high quality hotel they do adopt a relaxed attitude to children!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom f

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Poor experience overall. This is simply not a five star hotel. It is a 3 star hotel claiming to be a five star hotel. Poor value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Los Altos, CA

Very central and nice to relax in the evenings.

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Easy valet and quick access to my rooms. Friendly staff and beautiful views.
Pepper Club is a very nice boutique hotel. If you don't like a smaller hotel with an excellent bar, spa, gym and breakfast area - this is a highly recommended place to stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Far off from 5 star standards

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: I had a bad experience at this hotel from beginning to end so there is nothing to like from me.
Cons: Management, cleanliness and hygiene especially in the bathroom, get both lifts always working and get the hotel down rated to a 4 star.
Location: Decent location, close to waterfront - V & A. Borders Loop and long street. Lots of pups and action at night.
Was at the hotel at 3pm to check in, room was not ready. They eventually got me a room by 4pm but it was a lower category than what I paid for and the room was dirty and bathroom was filthy. After complaining they eventually moved me into a room that I paid for (A Superior Delux with bath tub) and it was lower down but much better. The Noise at night was really bad from the surrounding streets. Goes on till 4am sometimes and you cant sleep. The rates we paid were 5 star rates but this hotel doesn't come close to proper 5 star standards that we are used too. I would rate it at a decent 4 star. Not more.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Overrated for so-called luxury hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2015 
My husband, two small kids and myself stayed in a two-bedroom suite for 5 days during Christmas 2014. While the hotel exterior and lobby service is impressive, the hotel does not live up to the luxury tag. I would describe it as an excellent 3 star or fair 4 star hotel. First, rooms were small. The light fixture in one the bedrooms was hanging out of the ceiling when we came in. I deliberately did not call this in; it stayed so throughout our stay-cleaning ladies came and went and apparently did not notice a light fixture hanging from 10 inches of dislodged cable in the ceiling. It was nice to have a complimentary bottle of wine and some snacks in the room upon check in, and free daily bottles of water for all of us. I had a problem with large plain glass window in bathroom with no curtains for privacy. The worst thing about this hotel is the cleaning service. I don't think their cleaning staff are trained to the level they need to be, for a luxury hotel. Location was nice and relatively quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Gregfrom Geneva

Great staff - noisy location

Posted Jan 12, 2015 
Overall really enjoyed it. Very strong service culture Great food Decor needs a spring clean Bathrooms very nice Oscar on the front door extremely helpful. Nighclub noise til 2am - but changed rooms to 16th floor so more bearable. Room service needs more focus - had to wait an hour for champagne 1 night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 25, 2014 
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michelfrom France

Très bon hôtel. Conforme aux attentes.

Posted Sep 8, 2014 
Les prestations de l'hôtel sont conformes à sa catégorie + très bon petit déjeuner.
1 out of 5
by Dissapointedfrom Texas

Nightmare in SA

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Spa staff and service was excellant.
Cons: Hopefully GM will correct problems for future visitors. Expedia needs to make sure your customers are getting rooms that are advertised.
Location: Fortunately there is a lot to do close by. Lots of restaurant and shopping are within walking distance.
Problems from the very start. Hotel room was not as advertised (smaller room). Upon arrival I made arraingement for pick up of my wife who was coming on later flight but the service desk forgot and if I had not come down to make sure she would have been stranded at airport. Three separate security issue and if we were basicly ignored. Finally spoke with the Hotel General Manager and got resolution but it took three days to get any updates on our isses before it got to him. Room was over Long Street and loud music plays till 4 in the morning.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2014