Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views and large rooms

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The location and view and the size of the room
Staff was very helpful and friendly. Our room was supposed to be ready by 4pm, but it wasn't ready until a little after 4. It wasn't a really a problem - we were just very tired from a long flight and wanted to get settled in. The room was clean, the view was beautiful and walking distance to the beach, restaurants and the convenience store.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, Kansas

Very Nice Hotel Right On The Beach

Posted Aug 9, 2014
This is a very nice hotel very close to the beach. Lots to do in this area and is very close proximity to the water front and downtown area. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jerry from Downers Grove, IL

Great Camps Bay location

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Was glad to hear that they are adding complementary WiFi soon, as that is the only reason that I am not leaving a "5" Overall Rating. Everything else about the hotel was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from R

Great location

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Right on the beach with good facilities and friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Delphine from Atlanta, Ga

Excellent value right in the heart of Camps Bay

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: The location, opposite the beach and close to restaurants.
Cons: We should have booked a room with a balcony although I don't think there was one available at the time of booking.
Location: Opposite the beach, Great restaurants, beautiful views. Good location to drive to Chapmans Peak or into .cape town.
We loved this hotel. It is at one end of the street so is quiet enough but right in the heart of everything! We ate breakfast at Mynt next door overlooking he beach, very convenient, we could walk everywhere. There was secure parking and secure access to the street. We loved our room although next time we will get one with a patio or balcony. The room was clean, nicely decorated and had a fully equipped kitchen. The front desk supplied us with a US power converter plug, the staff were helpful and went out if their way I help. Overall an excellent experience, we thought very reasonably priced and would definitely return to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ron from Charlotte, NC

Place On the Bay - Cape Town Extraviganza

Posted Mar 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
One of the most magnificent locations we have ever stayed at. My travels have include Europe, Asia, Mexico & Aruba; & A Place on the Bay exceeded anything I have experienced in the past.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Steve & Jackie from London UK

Great location

Posted Feb 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
A perfect place to stay at Camps Bay and very convenient for all the sea front restaurants. Staff helpful, room clean, secure parking and a pleasant sheltered terrace.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Poor wifi and very noisy

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: WiFi
Wif rarely worked. Unit close to beach was very noisy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steve from London

Lovely hotel, but a couple of problems

Posted Dec 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
The location of the hotel is a dream. Right on the main road in Camps bay. a short walk to the beach and restaurants. The rooms are modern, most having a terrace area for outside dining/drinking. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a 2 bedroom 2 floor apartment. Bus this wasn't necessarily good news. Neither room had an air conditioner, and only one had a (slow weak) fan. The only air conditioner in the apartment was downstairs in the living area, and as the termperature was 29 degrees, I had to sleep there on the sofa! We couldn't check in until 4pm, and we had to be out by 10am (they were on the phone asking when we would leave!). Maybe the hotel owners don't appreciate that when people are on holiday they might prefer to lie in beyond 9am. However, despite these 2 problems, the hotel was nice, but I wouldn't stay there again in the hot season.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Keith from London, England

The best place to stay in Cape Town

Posted Dec 2, 2013
The staff were amazingly helpful, the beach was a few feet away and we had an uninterrupted view from our private balcony/patio. Reception will happily lend you international plugs and the cleaning service is great. The 'pop on and off' tourism bus picks up from the beach road just in front of the hotel and the restaurants and bars are top class. Best place to stay in Cape Town