Ratings based on 221 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Protea Hotel Review

Posted Mar 19, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent location - just a 5min walk from the V&A Waterfront
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brian from Joburg

Well located for easy access

Posted Mar 17, 2015 on Hotels
Well located for easy access to City, waterfront and Atlantic coast. Close to freeway to airport. The "Dual" rooms in the "Jail" were disappointingly small, with limited space for suitcases etc. More suitable for students and overnight stays. The shower/wet room is a disaster, splashing over everything and water running down the entrance. The facilities are great but breakfast was very expensive.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by CJ from Johannesburg

Great Hotel with wifi problems

Posted Mar 16, 2015 on Hotels
Great Stay, 2 issues I had is that the free wifi was almost non existent. Takes 20 minutes to watch a 2 minute video clip on Facebook and I had no 3g/4g coverage in my room either. The second issue is the prices that the little eatery in the Hotel charges - Astronomical! And if you want to charge me a ridiculous price for a coke, at least give me a proper coke - not one of those little 200ml mixer cans.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by john from scottsdale, az

great location

Posted Mar 15, 2015 on Hotels
great place, great service, but the rooms had thin walls. We could hear everything in the hall and from the adjoining rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Erika from Calgary

All you need. Perfect location.

Posted Mar 14, 2015 on Hotels
Stay and hotel and staff was great. Room not huge but very well appointed. Had a bit of a panic as the airport shuttle the hotel booked for us, did not show up. We ended up finding a taxi that the hotel paid with our shuttle money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oman

Good hotel if you are small and have no luggage

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Pros: Location and being an old prison, interesting.
Hotel is in a great location for the V&A Waterfront, clean and well run but rooms were very small with no room to put your suitcase, also do not expect any help getting your luggage to and from the taxi. Excellent buffet breakfast but expense, walk down to the Aquarium cafe for a third of the price with great views across the harbour.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lindsay from Romsey

3 Days in Cape Town

Posted Mar 3, 2015 on Hotels
Comfortable and conveniently placed for the Cape Town sights with safe easy walk to V & A
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lindfield. UK

Excellent location and value for money

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Location, value for money, excellent staff
Location: The lively Waterfront is right there. Table mountain, the sights of Cape Town and the wine route are within easy driving distance.
We had a family room for 2 couples comprising 2 separate bedrooms and shared bathroom toilet. The facilities are spartan but clean and tidy. The location is excellent - right in the heart of the bustling Cape Town Waterfront. Staff are efficient and interact well. Excellent value for money. We prefer this hotel to an expensive 5 star establishment. We would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Feb 28, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed only one night, but enjoyed my stay. If you want a nice hotel, clean and simple room, and close proximity to the Capetown Waterfront area, this is the place for you. Staff was friendly. No frills, but Capetown is so nice you should hardly be in your room/hotel anyway.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lorrin from Cape St Francis, Eastern Cape, South Africa

Average Hotel, Great Location

Posted Feb 19, 2015 on Hotels
The location of this hotel is excellent and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront. However, it's mixed in with a business university which we found very odd. We were not impressed with the room size or the fact it was a room only rate versus the amount we paid. We also were very annoyed that we were unable to get any room service if the bill was under R100.00 total. Our bill came to R97.00 and they would not deliver to our room. Luckily we stayed in the block where the restaurant was located and we went down to the restaurant / bar to get our own drinks and brought them up to the room. Our room faced the Aquarium direction and when the southeaster blew during the night, the windows whistled. We also heard the traffic outside. The only good thing about our arrival was the porter. The front desk staff are very rushed and didn't make you feel too welcome. Overall, I would say it was an average hotel and we will be looking elsewhere to stay in the area in the future I am afraid.