Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by richard from BC

Great Staff

Posted Mar 25, 2015 on Hotels
We had an amazing time. The hotel is quite nice and well situated in the neighborhood. The staff were incredible - very friendly, attentive and eager to help make arrangements when necessary. My only complaint was that the hotel did not include an iron/ironing board in room - forced me to have to make arrangements and pay to have a single shirt pressed (rather than quickly doing it myself).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Ok hotell - dock mycket ljud från trafiken utanför

Posted Mar 23, 2015 on Hotels
Bra läge Dock mycket trafik utanför fönstret
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paula

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 13, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nettes Hotel am Ortseingang von Franschhoek

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Die Lage des Hotels und der innen liegende Poolbereich
Cons: Der Service könnte etwas angenehmer gestaltet werden. Auch die Frage nach einem Late-Check-Out wurde nur mässig bearbeitet.
Location: Direkt am Eingang der "Einkaufsstrasse" zu Franschhoek. Viele Restaurants und Einkaufsgeschäfte in fussläufiger Nähe
Zum Abschluß unserer Reise haben wir noch eine Nacht in Franschhoek verbracht. Von diesem Hotel aus erreicht man direkt die kleine Einkaufsstrasse. In einem sehr netten Stil ist das Haus um den Pool angelegt. Alles in Allem ein netter Aufenthalt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Claes from Stockholm

Good location

Posted Jan 29, 2015 on Hotels
Good location, family oriented
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jessie Jun from Oslo

Flott hotell midt i Franschhoek

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels
Flott beliggenhet, midt i byen. Rene og komfortable rom. Antikk design.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by EDUARD from Barcelona

Rude and unkind reception staff

Posted Jan 9, 2015 on Hotels
Rude and unkind reception staff. I don't recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Beautiful Hotel, Excellent Service

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: Big rooms, great service, positive experience.
Location: very close to Ryan's Kitchen restaurant which I highly recommend for a fantastic meal.
We stayed one night at the Protea in Franschhoek and it was one of our best hotel experiences in South Africa. The hotel is beautiful with a pool in the central courtyard. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Big bathtub in the the bathroom. The staff was excellent and sent us a bottle of champaign when they heard it was our honeymoon. Breakfast was included which was much appreciated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Somerset West

Comfortable and friendly hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Friendly, clean and very well situated for a walk to all the wonderful restaurants and shops of Franschhoek
Cons: A bit of a refurb to the rooms. Not much needed, just a little tired.
Location: Franschhoek is a great place to stray and this hotel is in a great location. We would recommend it
The pool area is very pleasant but the pool itself was a bit milky during our stay. Possibly the automatic cleaner wasn't working. The rooms were comfortable and perfectly clean if a little dated. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of variety and choice. The staff were very friendly and, in the main, efficient. We had a little hiccup with service around the pool but that was handled by the manager. All in all a very pleasant stay which we hope to repeat soon.