Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Johnfrom UK

Paradise in Franschhoek

Posted Feb 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was great location , able to walk to most places. It was relaxed and comfortable. Staff very friendly especially Sarah at breakfast who could not do enough and was very professional and caring to our needs. Enjoyed the stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good as overnight stop or base for wine tasting

Posted Sep 16, 2013
We stayed for a night during a short tour around the Western Cape. I'd score execution very highly here (clean, new, everything worked first time) and scope/facilities as moderately good. It's a slightly identikit modern build hotel in which you will be able to sleep and have breakfast perfectly well, but the fun is to be had outside the hotel. But then since you're in one of the world's leading wine production areas, that's probably what you were intending to do anyway.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Nicolaasfrom Cape Town

Poor Breakfast Selection

Posted Mar 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
For a four star Hotel I thought the Breakfast selection and available quantity was poor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff and relaxing atmosphere

Posted Jan 6, 2013
The staff was extremely helpful...the best customer service we had received during out month long stay in South Africa. Very relaxing, wish we had more time to enjoy!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Perfect central location

Posted Aug 22, 2012 on Hotels.com
Excellent service made it a very enjoyable break. Rooms are a little bit tired and in need of updating. Bathroom very cold - a heated towel rail is essential for a stay in Winter.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by BMcQfrom Kendal

recommended

Posted Mar 23, 2012
Pros: Facilities and parking
Cons: Very quiet when we were there
Location: Excellent
Lovely setting and very convenient for a stroll through Franschoek. Bed brilliant! Staff friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Richardfrom Poole, England

Protea Hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2012
Cons: Hotel Restaurant
Location: Right in the town
A pretty courtyard hotel set in a good position within the town giving easy access to shops and retaurants. Unfortunately the hotel restaurant food is not of a good standard but the town has many excellent restaurants. The courtyard styling of the hotel while pleasing on the eye does mean any other residents using the pool or walking past can see into your room, thus curtains need to be closed for privacy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Davidfrom Edinburgh, Scotland

Protea Franschhoek - Good Value

Posted Feb 17, 2012
Very comfortable hotel and great value for money. Decent pool, though not large, and restaurant and bar lacking a bit of atmosphere. very close to Huguenot Street and the main shops/bars/restaurants and felt very safe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Berkshire

The Protea Hotel Franschoek

Posted Dec 7, 2009
The Protea Franschoek Hotel was situated in a quaint colonial town with plenty to do and a mixture of craft and antique shops. It was sympatheticaly restored and rooms were of good size and comfort. The balconies and good sized pool compared to most South African hotels made it relaxing and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel for price and quality for the area it is situated.