Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Extremely disappointing

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Other than the location, nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Sea Point is close by...
Physically the hotel is very run down and needs repair and a face lift as soon as possible if it wants to be a real Marriott have recently taken over the hotel and the need to get there quickly. My daughter room was small and smelled terrible, the ceiling panel fell down when we opened the door and the air conditioning did not work. Our room was basic, the internet service was very poor and certainly not of 4 star standard. The breakfast was a below average buffet and extremely noisy with kids running around unsupervised There were ants crawling all over the business desk in the lobby with a room service tray that had obviously been there for a long time. The final straw was the cowardly front office manager who hid in his office rather than deal with us face-to-face to discuss the problems and our promised room changes. When he eventually did come out he was extremely rude and unhelpful That was the last straw and we moved out after one night rather than the twelve we had planned to stay
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

No frills hotel...

Posted Jan 3, 2015
I initially wasn't going to write a review as the service was so bad I couldn't be bothered. Luckily I have time to write this as I'm back home. If your only looking to get your head down then this is the hotel you. Any more than 3 nights spent at this NFH (No Frills Hotel) and your holiday is ruined. The staff are unfriendly and unhelpful. I arrived after my partner and they issued me a key-card for the room that didn't work. Which was really inconvenient as the floors can't be accessed without a key-card. So I had to return to the reception twice. Our room was omitted from the daily clean for some reason, even though we had the "please clean me" sign on the door. The poolside staff are also atrocious as we had to wave them down screaming for them to bring us a menu - let alone drinks, which took 20 minutes to arrive. I mean I known its Capetown but come on, they're weren't 10 people to serve out of the 6/7 waiters. Even the manager seemed uninterested. Until we ordered a bottle of Möet which seemed to instantly attract his attention - I recommend ordering two bottles for double fast service ;) Next time I won't go on the cheap when booking hotels - lesson learnt.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Location, loads if potential not realised.

Posted Dec 13, 2014
The hotel is in a very good location, and the hotel has great potential. It is obvious that the hotel is a little neglected, and is in need of a complete face-lift, interior ugrade and remodel. Rooms are fine, but very simple and basic regarding style. We had a good stay never tte less, but will be exploring other options in our next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

lovely place to stay

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Iwould recommend this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tjeerdfrom Zwolle

Prachtig hotel, top lokatie, lekker zwembad.

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: Lokatie, voorzieningen en het ontbijt
Cons: De luxe is goed, het kan nog een tandje scherper en luxer.
Location: Kaapstad is zoveel te doen.. maak excusies naar de Kaap goede hoop, wijnlanden, robbeneiland.
Mooi hotel, goeie family kamer, en top ontbijt. Lokatie is wel wat ver van V&A waterfront maar je uitzicht op Robbeneiland is prachtig.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tranquil comfort in the heart of the Mother City

Posted Apr 24, 2014
We had a wonderful stay with our children at the President Protea. The staff where very friendly and helpful at all times, even though we did not stay for very long. The location of the Hotel was excellent with walking distance to public transport, restaurants and shopping. We highly recommend the Ptresident Protea Hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing and safe stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Sweden

average but comfortable hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
The suite was very nice and comfortable with a great ocean view from the bed. The hotel itself needs a good renovation though and the service is nothing to write home about...
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Howardfrom Bantry Bay

Perfect location

Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
We keep returning to President Protea. It has a perfect location, a beautiful sea view and easy to walk to the beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by H.B.from Canada

close to beaches

Posted Mar 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay on the whole was enjoyable but noted that the quality of the dinner buffet was below average, and that the behaviour of the receptionists needed improvement.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Catarina Cunhafrom Portugal

A big hotel in Bantry Bay

Posted Mar 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was fine but really too expensive. Breakfast was great and the restaurant staff too. The transport and guest services were also friendly and efficient. Nice pool, facing the ocean, but overall the hotel is just a bit dated. The mattresses and pillows were not good, good thing we only stayed three nights. It was really nice to have a mini-kitchen though, for the kids. The location is ok, a ten to fifteen minute cab ride to pretty much anywhere. The view from the ocean facing room was stunning, but our room didn't have a balcony to enjoy it.