Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel close to beach and views of ocean.

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Beautiful hotel with great amenities. Delicious breakfasts included. Pool little cold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elizabeth from England

President

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, stylishness, good food and excellent staff
Cons: A bigger breakfast room
Location: Lovely relaxing walks along Beach Road, handy for the bus to the Waterfront and with many diverse restaurants within walking distance
I have travelled to Cape Town 6 times in the last 6 years and always choose the President for my stay. I know that there will always be a very comfortable room waiting for me with friendly staff and excellent facilities. The breakfast must be the best in Cape Town, I cannot recommend it highly enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by granny from england

Beautiful view of sea from hotel, lovely pool area

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Close to the sea
I was travelling alone for a couple of days before meeting friends, the hotel was recommended to me and it lived up to my expectations. I couldn't fault it. Excellent.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Jack from Toronto

Not great

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very disappointed - air conditioning did not work properly, service by administration was poor and issues weren't resolved well at all
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dan G from Atl

Exceeded Epectation

Posted Dec 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
The location was perfect. The service was fantastic and the activities that could be booked from the hotel were brilliant. The rooms were spacious and nice! I am staying there again next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2013
Pros: It was a good location to 'do' Cape Town. They were accommodating for small children. Good sized room. Breakfasts were AMAZING
Cons: Room cleanliness
Location: You can access the sights easily by taxi, Myciti bus or Hop-on/off bus. You can walk along the seafront to beaches at Clifton.
We had 8 nights at Protea President. The room wasn't as clean as we would have expected when we arrived and several of the light fittings weren't working. However the hotel were quick to sort it out. It was a good location for us to do all we wanted. The hotel were helpful in sorting bookings for us (although we had already prebooked Table Mountain and Robben Island). We thought we would spend a lot on taxis but the Myciti buses were really cheap and easy to use to get to the Waterfront and various places we wanted to visit in the city centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rick from Billings, Montana

Posted Nov 15, 2013
Pros: The ocean views were great. Nice clean hotel with good food.
Cons: Please provide disposable slippers in the rooms. Otherwise, good hotel.
Location: Close to the ocean with pleasing views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Nan from Frisco, TX

Near beach and hop-on, hop-off bus

Posted Oct 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a wonderful room overlooking the pool and ocean. We could even see Robben Island. The breakfast buffets were fabulous! Would love to stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great relaxing hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2013
Pros: Great rooms, pool and modern decor
Cons: Quicker service at the bar and meals. Also message sent to you from outside the hotel take 24hrs to get to you.
Location: Bantry Bay is quietish but close to the Waterfront and Camps bay.
Service could have been a little quicker but otherwise fantastic