Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: The situation and view are excellent
Cons: The reception and management of Rception and Room Service need to be replaced or retrained
The room was not ready for several hours after arrival and the service and competence at Reception was terrible. We were told that the bed would be changed again nothing happened for hours in spite of repeated visits to Reception. We were finally told at 11pm that the bed could not be changed and were then moved to a small dirty room in the farthest reaches of the Hotel. We complained about the state of the room but again nothing was done in spite of repeated visits to Reception the following day. I have never experienced such sloppy service in any other hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Great facility with outstanding service and value

Posted Feb 23, 2015
My initial skepticism was completely remedied by the outstanding experience we had at the President. The location is difficult to improve on. The room quality and breakfast are of superlative quality. The infinity swimming pool is a focal point of the hotel and enjoyed by all guests. The Onsite parking is a welcome convenience. Only improvent needed is In the wifi provider (alwayson) which often did not support wifi as needed.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Extremely disappointing

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Other than the location, nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Sea Point is close by...
Physically the hotel is very run down and needs repair and a face lift as soon as possible if it wants to be a real Marriott have recently taken over the hotel and the need to get there quickly. My daughter room was small and smelled terrible, the ceiling panel fell down when we opened the door and the air conditioning did not work. Our room was basic, the internet service was very poor and certainly not of 4 star standard. The breakfast was a below average buffet and extremely noisy with kids running around unsupervised There were ants crawling all over the business desk in the lobby with a room service tray that had obviously been there for a long time. The final straw was the cowardly front office manager who hid in his office rather than deal with us face-to-face to discuss the problems and our promised room changes. When he eventually did come out he was extremely rude and unhelpful That was the last straw and we moved out after one night rather than the twelve we had planned to stay
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

No frills hotel...

Posted Jan 3, 2015
I initially wasn't going to write a review as the service was so bad I couldn't be bothered. Luckily I have time to write this as I'm back home. If your only looking to get your head down then this is the hotel you. Any more than 3 nights spent at this NFH (No Frills Hotel) and your holiday is ruined. The staff are unfriendly and unhelpful. I arrived after my partner and they issued me a key-card for the room that didn't work. Which was really inconvenient as the floors can't be accessed without a key-card. So I had to return to the reception twice. Our room was omitted from the daily clean for some reason, even though we had the "please clean me" sign on the door. The poolside staff are also atrocious as we had to wave them down screaming for them to bring us a menu - let alone drinks, which took 20 minutes to arrive. I mean I known its Capetown but come on, they're weren't 10 people to serve out of the 6/7 waiters. Even the manager seemed uninterested. Until we ordered a bottle of Möet which seemed to instantly attract his attention - I recommend ordering two bottles for double fast service ;) Next time I won't go on the cheap when booking hotels - lesson learnt.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Location, loads if potential not realised.

Posted Dec 13, 2014
The hotel is in a very good location, and the hotel has great potential. It is obvious that the hotel is a little neglected, and is in need of a complete face-lift, interior ugrade and remodel. Rooms are fine, but very simple and basic regarding style. We had a good stay never tte less, but will be exploring other options in our next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

lovely place to stay

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Iwould recommend this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tjeerdfrom Zwolle

Prachtig hotel, top lokatie, lekker zwembad.

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: Lokatie, voorzieningen en het ontbijt
Cons: De luxe is goed, het kan nog een tandje scherper en luxer.
Location: Kaapstad is zoveel te doen.. maak excusies naar de Kaap goede hoop, wijnlanden, robbeneiland.
Mooi hotel, goeie family kamer, en top ontbijt. Lokatie is wel wat ver van V&A waterfront maar je uitzicht op Robbeneiland is prachtig.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tranquil comfort in the heart of the Mother City

Posted Apr 24, 2014
We had a wonderful stay with our children at the President Protea. The staff where very friendly and helpful at all times, even though we did not stay for very long. The location of the Hotel was excellent with walking distance to public transport, restaurants and shopping. We highly recommend the Ptresident Protea Hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing and safe stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Sweden

average but comfortable hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
The suite was very nice and comfortable with a great ocean view from the bed. The hotel itself needs a good renovation though and the service is nothing to write home about...
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Howardfrom Bantry Bay

Perfect location

Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
We keep returning to President Protea. It has a perfect location, a beautiful sea view and easy to walk to the beach.