Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

A good hotel but needs to sort out some issues

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: Great location. Good pool and modern rooms with good facilities and comfortable beds.
Cons: As previously highlighted.
Location: Close to Cape Town and to areas such as Camps Bay for restaurants, bars and attractive beaches.
We have stayed many times at the President and have always enjoyed our visits. So much so that we have recommended the hotel to friends & family in the UK but were disappointed this time with the lack of towels in our room on checking in (after a long haul flight) and throughout our stay. The breakfast service was also poor and there was a general lack of customer service. However, this was mentioned to the GM and he did seem to take our comments on board so hopefully these issues will be quickly resolved.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: The situation and view are excellent
Cons: The reception and management of Rception and Room Service need to be replaced or retrained
The room was not ready for several hours after arrival and the service and competence at Reception was terrible. We were told that the bed would be changed again nothing happened for hours in spite of repeated visits to Reception. We were finally told at 11pm that the bed could not be changed and were then moved to a small dirty room in the farthest reaches of the Hotel. We complained about the state of the room but again nothing was done in spite of repeated visits to Reception the following day. I have never experienced such sloppy service in any other hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Great facility with outstanding service and value

Posted Feb 23, 2015
My initial skepticism was completely remedied by the outstanding experience we had at the President. The location is difficult to improve on. The room quality and breakfast are of superlative quality. The infinity swimming pool is a focal point of the hotel and enjoyed by all guests. The Onsite parking is a welcome convenience. Only improvent needed is In the wifi provider (alwayson) which often did not support wifi as needed.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Extremely disappointing

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Other than the location, nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Sea Point is close by...
Physically the hotel is very run down and needs repair and a face lift as soon as possible if it wants to be a real Marriott have recently taken over the hotel and the need to get there quickly. My daughter room was small and smelled terrible, the ceiling panel fell down when we opened the door and the air conditioning did not work. Our room was basic, the internet service was very poor and certainly not of 4 star standard. The breakfast was a below average buffet and extremely noisy with kids running around unsupervised There were ants crawling all over the business desk in the lobby with a room service tray that had obviously been there for a long time. The final straw was the cowardly front office manager who hid in his office rather than deal with us face-to-face to discuss the problems and our promised room changes. When he eventually did come out he was extremely rude and unhelpful That was the last straw and we moved out after one night rather than the twelve we had planned to stay
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

No frills hotel...

Posted Jan 3, 2015
I initially wasn't going to write a review as the service was so bad I couldn't be bothered. Luckily I have time to write this as I'm back home. If your only looking to get your head down then this is the hotel you. Any more than 3 nights spent at this NFH (No Frills Hotel) and your holiday is ruined. The staff are unfriendly and unhelpful. I arrived after my partner and they issued me a key-card for the room that didn't work. Which was really inconvenient as the floors can't be accessed without a key-card. So I had to return to the reception twice. Our room was omitted from the daily clean for some reason, even though we had the "please clean me" sign on the door. The poolside staff are also atrocious as we had to wave them down screaming for them to bring us a menu - let alone drinks, which took 20 minutes to arrive. I mean I known its Capetown but come on, they're weren't 10 people to serve out of the 6/7 waiters. Even the manager seemed uninterested. Until we ordered a bottle of Möet which seemed to instantly attract his attention - I recommend ordering two bottles for double fast service ;) Next time I won't go on the cheap when booking hotels - lesson learnt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Danielfrom Vetlanda

Bra val!

Posted Dec 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Perfekt läge för att upptäcka Kapstaden i flera riktningar. Lugnt område. Bra frukost. Trevlig personal. Vi hade rum/lägenhet med två dubbelsängar och stort allrum. Hade mer yta än vi egentligen behövde (händer sällan på hotell).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Rundown

Posted Dec 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was rundown and service was terrible. Not at all what I expected from a 4 star hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Location, loads if potential not realised.

Posted Dec 13, 2014
The hotel is in a very good location, and the hotel has great potential. It is obvious that the hotel is a little neglected, and is in need of a complete face-lift, interior ugrade and remodel. Rooms are fine, but very simple and basic regarding style. We had a good stay never tte less, but will be exploring other options in our next visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Arvin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Isabelle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 7, 2014 on Hotels.com