Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by H.B. from Canada

close to beaches

Posted Mar 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay on the whole was enjoyable but noted that the quality of the dinner buffet was below average, and that the behaviour of the receptionists needed improvement.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Catarina Cunha from Portugal

A big hotel in Bantry Bay

Posted Mar 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was fine but really too expensive. Breakfast was great and the restaurant staff too. The transport and guest services were also friendly and efficient. Nice pool, facing the ocean, but overall the hotel is just a bit dated. The mattresses and pillows were not good, good thing we only stayed three nights. It was really nice to have a mini-kitchen though, for the kids. The location is ok, a ten to fifteen minute cab ride to pretty much anywhere. The view from the ocean facing room was stunning, but our room didn't have a balcony to enjoy it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel close to beach and views of ocean.

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Beautiful hotel with great amenities. Delicious breakfasts included. Pool little cold.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by turtlebay

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elizabeth from England

President

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, stylishness, good food and excellent staff
Cons: A bigger breakfast room
Location: Lovely relaxing walks along Beach Road, handy for the bus to the Waterfront and with many diverse restaurants within walking distance
I have travelled to Cape Town 6 times in the last 6 years and always choose the President for my stay. I know that there will always be a very comfortable room waiting for me with friendly staff and excellent facilities. The breakfast must be the best in Cape Town, I cannot recommend it highly enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by granny from england

Beautiful view of sea from hotel, lovely pool area

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Close to the sea
I was travelling alone for a couple of days before meeting friends, the hotel was recommended to me and it lived up to my expectations. I couldn't fault it. Excellent.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Jack from Toronto

Not great

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very disappointed - air conditioning did not work properly, service by administration was poor and issues weren't resolved well at all
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dan G from Atl

Exceeded Epectation

Posted Dec 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
The location was perfect. The service was fantastic and the activities that could be booked from the hotel were brilliant. The rooms were spacious and nice! I am staying there again next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2013
Pros: It was a good location to 'do' Cape Town. They were accommodating for small children. Good sized room. Breakfasts were AMAZING
Cons: Room cleanliness
Location: You can access the sights easily by taxi, Myciti bus or Hop-on/off bus. You can walk along the seafront to beaches at Clifton.
We had 8 nights at Protea President. The room wasn't as clean as we would have expected when we arrived and several of the light fittings weren't working. However the hotel were quick to sort it out. It was a good location for us to do all we wanted. The hotel were helpful in sorting bookings for us (although we had already prebooked Table Mountain and Robben Island). We thought we would spend a lot on taxis but the Myciti buses were really cheap and easy to use to get to the Waterfront and various places we wanted to visit in the city centre.