Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by TH from New York, NY

Look No Further

Posted Apr 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Coming out of a conference in Cape Town's beautiful but inconvenient southern suburbs, I moved over to the Protea Sea Point for a few days and nights of R&R before returning home. This place is really terrific, particularly if you're on a budget. The staff is courteous and extremely helpful, the restaurant does a fresh and fortifying buffet breakfast, and the fourth-floor pool and deck providing wonderful views of the ocean (just a block away) to the west and Devil's Peak to the east. And I loved the rooms. They are small, but sleekly and intelligently designed (particularly the bathroom features) and incredibly clean. The rooms will undoubtedly be cozy for two people -- I might not recommend them if you have a lot of luggage -- but considering how little time one actually spends in a hotel room in Cape Town (it's a lovely hour walk along the Sea Point and Mouille Point promenades to the V&A Waterfront and quick taxi ride to all attractions), I wouldn't worry too much about this.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by bainbridge

Posted Feb 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
ok hotel........3 star. Nice staff and the value was ok for the time of year. Service was very good whenever you asked for something.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Disappointing service and noisy hotel

Posted Jan 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel stay was disappointing in the most part. Noisy rooms, being woken up each morning at an early hour is never welcomed while on holiday. The room keys never worked which is extremely annoying and the hotel staff for the most part were less than impressive. All in all, a lousy experience. 2/10.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill and Barb from Minnesota, USA

Total superb vacation experience all in place

Posted Jan 23, 2013
Great people, great location, great help when needed. All around great experience. Excellent excellent staff. My husband and I couldn't have been more pleased. We could rely on the people working there for any and all of our needs and answers to our questions. All we had to do was enjoy our vacation. (Which we did. Immensely ). Everything from a post office to a drug store to a church to the beach was within easy walking distance. Plus it was perfectly safe. We would love for the rest of our family to visit and stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
Complimentary water, and WiFI is only for the first day although they did give us more voucher for the wifi. Staff are very helpful, courteous and polite. Would recommend friends and family to stay there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dissapointed

Posted Oct 21, 2012
Dissapointing. Dissapointing. Dissapointing. Dissapointing
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Protea Cape Town

Posted Mar 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
Hotel was OK rooms have had a spruce up as has the lobbys and reception, bathrooms and pool / pool area are very tired hopefully these are next for refurb which would make a change. Little evening life if you are looking for a drink and compant. Not a bad hotel just a bit tired inplaces
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southfield, Michigan

Protea Hotel at Seapoint, Cape Town

Posted Mar 4, 2012 on Hotels.com
Would not stay at this particular Protea Hotel again. The hotel has see-through showers that are seen from your hotel room. We were friends sharing a twin room. Hotel gave away my paid reservation for 2 twin rooms and I had to pressure them to transfer me to another Protea Hotel close by. To be fair, they gave my group of 8 free breakfast the next day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Johannesburg S.A.

PROTEA HOTEL CAPE POINT in Cape Town South Africa

Posted Nov 15, 2011 on Hotels.com
Protea Hotel Cape Point in Cape Town South Africa is centrally situated, in close proximity to all the sights / places which need to be visited. this makes it very convenient to move around, therefore i have already recommended this hotel to most of my friends. my husband and i had a wonderful time in Cape Town, and we would not have a second thought about staying at this hotel in future .