Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Carol from Englewood, FL.

Rickety Bridge

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Rickety Bridge hotel is lovely. The setting is the Rickety Bridge winery at the base of a mountain. A Dutch Colonial manor house. Staff was wonderful. Breakfast menu was delicious. The winery has tastings of their award winning wines. Set amongst the vineyards. Close to town. Very authentic. Loved it and will recommend and stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great B&B on wine estate

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Rickety Bridge is located in Franshoek, an incredibly beautiful small town in the wine country which prides itself both on its wine and its food. The B&B is in the old manor house and has only three guest rooms so you are left almost alone for the night in a very large and comfortable room. It was an unusual and very enjoyable experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Fiona from UK

Ideal winelands base

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: Character, location, setting, service.
Cons: Room decor needs updating....particularly the bathrooms.
Location: Wine tasting, wine tasting and wine tasting. The town of Franschoek is delightful with lots of lovely eating places and shopping.
The hotel was in a lovely location on the edge of Franschoek in a picturesque setting. Adjacent tasting rooms and restaurant also excellent. We had a two night stay in the impressive manor house in a lovely characterful room. However, the weather had been quite wet and there was a residual damp smell from the thatch roofing a the rooms are in the roof space. We found it easy to walk into the township for a lovely Sunday afternoon stroll....safe and straightforward walk. The hotel staff were wonderful and their efforts in booking restaurants etc were much appreciated....especially those restaurants that offers a collection and drop off service after a day of wine tasting. The hotel was lovely, but the rooms are looking a little tis and could do with some improving if they are going to maintain a 4 star rating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ale from Mexico

Extremely good

Posted Jun 5, 2013
Pros: Everything, it's your own house.
Location: Perfect location, just 3 minutes out of the town.
Rickety bridge is not a hotel, it is an old victorian house with 3 rooms only, there is no reception. But this is one of the best places we've ever stayed in. It is a beautiful house, the room is just amazing, super clean, super friendly people. You have your own winery and vineyards right there. Breakfast is really good. And if you stay here, the winery doesn't charge you for the wine tasting, only for the cheese platter which is about 50 R.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tebey from Nashville, TN

I highly recommend

Posted May 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our stay at Rickety Bridge Winery was excellent. The staff was fantastic and the accommodations were stellar. Unfortunately the room we booked was unavailable due to renovations, so we were upgraded to a suite with a separate sitting room and kitchen. The Rickety Bridge property is gorgeous, and we got to discover it as we walked to lunch at the winery one day. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was also great, and the menu had a good selection to chose from. The property is slightly off the main strip (maybe 1 km from all the restaurants of the main road), but as long as you have a car, this isn't an issue. Overall, 5/5. Great hotel/winery!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Linda

Excellent!

Posted Dec 31, 2012 on Hotels.com
The manor house is beautifully decorated and since there are only three rooms, one essentially has the run of the house. The two rooms upstairs share a common area. Location on a wine farm near the village of Franschhoek is also lovely. Would recommend and return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 24, 2011 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Harrogate, UK

Rickety Bridge, Franschoek - A manor house /winery

Posted Oct 28, 2010 on Hotels.com
This extremely luxurious accommodation was in an idyllic setting in a manor house adjacent to a wine lodge. The room actually consisted of a suite - a sitting room fully equipped with fridge, mini bar, tv, hospitality tray and access to complimentary sherry and port. Our bedroom was spacious, well furnished and very very comfortable. Our bathroom had a double shower, down the corridor we had our own private access to a courtyard. The staff were incredibly attentive and breakfast was excellent. Wine tours/tasting were available on site as well as their own products available in a shop. We could drive into town easily where there was a huge choice of top quality restaurants, shops etc. We would definitely recommend this luxurious accommodation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great South South African wine country retreeat

Posted Jul 19, 2009 on Hotels.com
This hotel was a delightful experience from the moment we approached it from the highway. Very stately, yet charming and warm with many nice touches such as the cozy fireplace ablaze in the study and a glass of sherry to relax us - Our rooms were quite large (yes, rooms) and breakfast in the dining room the next morning was made perfectly to order - a real find in the beautiful wine country less than an hours drive outside of Cape Town -