Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A lovely place to stay

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Amazing country house with an equally as amazing breakfast! Only thing to be aware of is its 3-4km out of the town and the kitchen closes at 4pm, so don't get too carried away with those wine tastings! There are no taxis in town but there are certain restaurants that offer a pick up and drop off service and Rickety Bridge provide this info in the rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Cal from USA

Loved it!

Posted Apr 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay at Rickety Bridge was wonderful. We stayed in the old manor house which is located on the winery site. There are only three bedrooms in the house, and only one of the other rooms was occupied, so it was like we had the house to ourselves. The staff was gracious and accommodating. They left in the early evening and were back early the next morning for breakfast. The bedroom was very large with an adjacent sitting room, so we had plenty of room to lounge around. There is a restaurant next-door and a distillery. We would stay here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Not 2 bedrooms, 2 beds

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
We booked believing two bedrooms, only one! VERY DIFFICULT. Upstairs rooms looked lovely, better than our downstairs one. Swimming pool difficult to get into sun. Lots of maintenance being done
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Carol from Englewood, FL.

Rickety Bridge

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Rickety Bridge hotel is lovely. The setting is the Rickety Bridge winery at the base of a mountain. A Dutch Colonial manor house. Staff was wonderful. Breakfast menu was delicious. The winery has tastings of their award winning wines. Set amongst the vineyards. Close to town. Very authentic. Loved it and will recommend and stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great B&B on wine estate

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Rickety Bridge is located in Franshoek, an incredibly beautiful small town in the wine country which prides itself both on its wine and its food. The B&B is in the old manor house and has only three guest rooms so you are left almost alone for the night in a very large and comfortable room. It was an unusual and very enjoyable experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Fiona from UK

Ideal winelands base

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: Character, location, setting, service.
Cons: Room decor needs updating....particularly the bathrooms.
Location: Wine tasting, wine tasting and wine tasting. The town of Franschoek is delightful with lots of lovely eating places and shopping.
The hotel was in a lovely location on the edge of Franschoek in a picturesque setting. Adjacent tasting rooms and restaurant also excellent. We had a two night stay in the impressive manor house in a lovely characterful room. However, the weather had been quite wet and there was a residual damp smell from the thatch roofing a the rooms are in the roof space. We found it easy to walk into the township for a lovely Sunday afternoon stroll....safe and straightforward walk. The hotel staff were wonderful and their efforts in booking restaurants etc were much appreciated....especially those restaurants that offers a collection and drop off service after a day of wine tasting. The hotel was lovely, but the rooms are looking a little tis and could do with some improving if they are going to maintain a 4 star rating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ale from Mexico

Extremely good

Posted Jun 5, 2013
Pros: Everything, it's your own house.
Location: Perfect location, just 3 minutes out of the town.
Rickety bridge is not a hotel, it is an old victorian house with 3 rooms only, there is no reception. But this is one of the best places we've ever stayed in. It is a beautiful house, the room is just amazing, super clean, super friendly people. You have your own winery and vineyards right there. Breakfast is really good. And if you stay here, the winery doesn't charge you for the wine tasting, only for the cheese platter which is about 50 R.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tebey from Nashville, TN

I highly recommend

Posted May 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our stay at Rickety Bridge Winery was excellent. The staff was fantastic and the accommodations were stellar. Unfortunately the room we booked was unavailable due to renovations, so we were upgraded to a suite with a separate sitting room and kitchen. The Rickety Bridge property is gorgeous, and we got to discover it as we walked to lunch at the winery one day. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was also great, and the menu had a good selection to chose from. The property is slightly off the main strip (maybe 1 km from all the restaurants of the main road), but as long as you have a car, this isn't an issue. Overall, 5/5. Great hotel/winery!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Linda

Excellent!

Posted Dec 31, 2012 on Hotels.com
The manor house is beautifully decorated and since there are only three rooms, one essentially has the run of the house. The two rooms upstairs share a common area. Location on a wine farm near the village of Franschhoek is also lovely. Would recommend and return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 24, 2011 on Hotels.com