Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Mar 4, 2010
Really enjoyed the stay, host was very helpful recommending places of interest (esp vineyards),Houtbay location is great and hotel is very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wales, UK

Good accommodation

Posted Feb 17, 2010
Excellent breakfast and friendly staff. The manager was friendly and greeted us on arrival. The room was clean and spacious. The location was excellent for touring the area. A hired car is recommended, however, there is a bus service into Cape Town from Houtt Bay. There are 2 excellent restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, the food was reasonable and of a very good standard. The only complaint was the occasional smell of fish coming from the bay but this did not spoil our stay in Seacliffe Lodge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Nowich

nice apartment in a very good location

Posted Nov 20, 2009
When booking a hotel for Cape Town we didn`t really want to stay in the centre as we wanted to hire a car to explore further afield. Hout bay seemed ideal and Seacliffe Lodge was a real good find. We decided to stay in one of the self catering apartments, which meant that we could come and go as we pleased. The apartment itself had everything that you needed, so if you did want to stay in one night to cook, you had everything you needed and more. We simply didn`t have the time as we were out and about all the time! If you had any problems, then the owners were always on hand to help. The apartment is cleaned every day and they even did the washing up!. Hout Bay was lovely. It has a fantastic restaurant at Mariners Wharf which serves a variety of food and is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The area is very safe even at night. I would definately recommend this hotel and town. The only thing is that you will need to hire a car to drive around. But driving is relatively easy as long as you have a good navigator, like I did! The start of Chapmans Peak Drive is 5 minutes away, and it took us about 3 minutes to get to Cape Town in the evenings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

The place to stay in the Cape Town area

Posted Oct 10, 2009
We loved this place. Tom transfered us safely to and from the airport and took us out on two different days for private tours. We chose where and what we wanted to do. Tom has connections in the wine country for an unforgettable personal tour. Our Cape Point tour included an encounter with baboons, penguins, antique shopping and the best seafood ever with waves crashing against the windows! Seacliffe Lodge is as close to the beach and Mariner's Wharf as you can get.The hop on hop off bus is across the street. That will take you to V & A waterfront and all the other local attractions. You can walk to a mall or the main street in Hout Bay from the Lodge or Tom can arrange your transportation, including a rental car. Staying in Hout Bay was quiet, safe and scenic. The V & A waterfront in Cape Town is ok to visit once but I wouldn't want to stay in that busy area.Seacliffe Lodge has 4 star, 5 star and self catering so there is something for everyone. We had coffee in the beautiful kitchen in the lodge and would stay there next time to enjoy the breakfasts. We felt like family by the time we left and will be back again some day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Great location self catering could do with a refresh

Posted May 18, 2009
Seacliff is located in an excellent spot in Hout Bay. The management and staff are very friendly and it has a welcomming atmosphere. We stayed in the self catering which whilst comfortable, secure and convenient could do with a bit of a refresh.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2009 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Great base for our stay

Posted Apr 18, 2009
Seacliffe Lodge was a great base for our trip to Cape Town. Owners were welcoming, breakfasts were great, and room extremely spacious. Hout Bay is a lovely area, a little further out but had nice restaurants and was within easy reach of beaches at Camps Bay and Llandudno, and to the centre of Cape Town itself.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Ipswich UK

Good spot adjacent to Cape Town

Posted Mar 23, 2009
Smart, and well run small B & B within easy reach of Cape Town. Adjacent to the harbour, which is quite busy with fishing boats etc. Good eating out across the road at Mariners Wharf. Slight warning - there can be a fishy smell if wind in wrong direction!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Here right now and loving it

Posted Jan 13, 2009
As I say I'm here right now, Jan 09. Booked for @ weeks and having a great time. Great value for the money. Exchange rate is favorable to US dollar. A car is a must cause there are so many beautiful things to see in the area. Great for a short stay if you plan to do do the Garden Route or a longer stay if you want to stay close to Cape area without the congestion of Cape Town itself. The local area is peaceful and very scenic
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Would definitely go back!

Posted Nov 10, 2008
Beautiful room..lots of space and very clean. Was lovely to get up to a great view of the Bay from the balcony every morning. Great location if you have a (hire) car - 20mins drive from V&A waterfront, 2hrs from Hermanus and about an hr from Cape Point. Nice friendly/homely atmosphere - staff very helpful. Yummy place to eat and picturesque beach within walking distance.