Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Great family stay

Posted Jan 25, 2012
Pros: The staff were lovely
Cons: Some of the electrical wiring was a bit dodgy
Location: Great, easy to access the beach and the bay
The Seacliffe Lodge is a warm and friendly place. The rooms, comfortable, clean and well equipped and some nice personal touches. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful. The location is perfect for a short stroll to the beach and in good reach of shops and good range of restaurants. We were traveling with a toddler on our first family holiday abroad and felt safe, relaxed and welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lynn from Verwood, Dorset, UK

seacliffe lodge , january 2012

Posted Jan 14, 2012
Pros: location
Location: right by the harbour with beach, restaurants, boat trips and market stalls within a short, safe, walking distance.
Great accomodation, fantastic location, great breakfast, friendly and helpful hosts. Very comfortable place to stay which we would highly recommend to friends.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Guildford, UK

Good service

Posted Dec 2, 2011
I stayed 2 nights at the beginning of my South Africa trip. Arranged for Tom to meet me at the airport which he willingly did even though I arrived at 06:15. The hotel is very close to the bus stop for the company that does the double decker bus tours of Cape Town, and I bought a 2 day pass which worked well - however the bus only does a circular tour so the journey takes half an hour to go in to Cape Town, and 90 mins to come back - however the tour is interesting. I found Hout Bay a nice quiet location, though personally I would not rush back to restaurant on the sea front, the ones in the village were much better value & quality. The hotel was fine. I subsequently stayed in nicer ones, but these were a long way from Cape Town and I think you get much better value out of the city. I would recommend this for a Cape Town hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Walnut Creek, CA

Comfortable and good value

Posted Nov 14, 2011 on Hotels.com
We stayed at one of the self catering apartment, Dolphin, which is actually a one-bedroom apartment with living room, dining area and a full kitchen. The location is not close to downtown or the airport, however, it is at the end of the Blue Line of the Hop On Hop Off bus in Hout Bay. By taking the Hop On and Hop Off bus, we were able to get to know the complete surrounding areas of Cape Town. When we missed the last Blue Line bus, we were able to take the local bus back to the hotel. The hotel owner, Tom, is very helpful during our stay. We will definitely come back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Bedford UK

Self catering cottage but lovely

Posted Sep 9, 2011
I was given a lovely one bedroom flat with parking just outside the door. No view to speak of because of the location of the cottage but as soon as you walked out you were 50m from the loveliest fisjing harbour and beach you could imagine with mountains all around you and seals swimming in the harbour. I loved it. A little awy from the shops but I felt safe not sure I would walk about by myself at night though. Overall a lovely place and lovely accommodation and people that run it. Thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from South East London, UK

Seacliffe Lodge, Hout Bay - good value & short walk from beach

Posted May 4, 2011
We stayed in apartment 2 (Dolphin) for 10 days in April. Very large apartment (in contrast to apartment 1, which is really small; friends stayed there for a few days at the beginning of our stay) - comprisiing of kitchen with lots of cupboard space and counters, a good sized living room with tv (a radio would have been good), a massive bedroom with fitted wardrobes and a large bathroom with bath, shower and double sink. A maid visited each day around 11am to clean the apartment, wash any dishes & to change towels & bed linen. Disappointed that there wasn't any tourist information/leaflets in the apartment, nor was there a guest book - washing liquid, tea, coffee & sugar would have been good as well. Although a heated swimming pool was advertised, it was not mentioned whether this was just available to hotel guests or to apartment guests as well. Good value & close to beach & some restaurants but we would look to stay somewhere with a sea view next time we visit Cape Town. Cape Town is a beautiful place, particularly recommend Cape Point, Table Mountain, penguins at Simon's Town & Camps Bay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon

SeaCliffe Lodge 3 star family suite.

Posted Dec 30, 2010
We stayed in the family suite behind the lodge in another building. This was a self catering suite that was much cheaper than the regular lodge but did not include air or access to Wifi. We were able to access the Wifi if we walked down to the main building but not from our room. The proprietors were fantastic and were always willing and able to assist with any thing we needed. I would recommend the SeaCliffe Lodge to anyone who wanted to explore the South Cape and wanted to be outside Cape Town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Harrogate, UK

Seacliffe Lodge - Hout Bay, S.Africa -(Cape Town)

Posted Oct 28, 2010 on Hotels.com
Very helpful owners - even daily were able to give local advice. Breakfast was excellent and offered good choice. The accommodation was well situated for exploring all of the Cape Peninsular. Within walking distance there were at least two good restaurants, harbour and visitor attractions. However, you would need a car to go further afield. Overall, a good stay. Would re-visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2010 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Marrietta, Georgia

A Bit of Hidden Gem

Posted Jun 26, 2010
This little hotel is hidden away in Hout Bay, but finds itself in about the middle of just about everything. The rooms are recently remodeled and updated with a comfortable, mildly art-deco flair. Everything works and is high quality without being snobbish. The innkeeper is gracious and provided us with assistance, restaurant advice, and a complementary beverage despite our late arrival in a downpour. This hotel provides a great deal of comfort and security at a good price.