Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Guildford, England

Disappointing location

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: The bed was confortable and clean and the breakfast was good
Cons: The meet and greet Cleanleness of the balcony Operation of the wi-fi
Location: The general area and beach close to the hotel was dirty, the buildings were industrial and it felt very unsafe to walk around the area.
Our experience in thishotel was not good. On arrival at the hotel we were welcomed by a maid who took us to our room, the room was a standard room without a balcony, even though we had booked a sea view room with a balcony. I complained that we had been put in the incorrect room at which point we were given the 'seaview' room. The sea view room overlooked a number of industrial metal buildings. Between the hotel and these building is a very busy road which meant the 'sea view' room was very noisy. The view was not a 'sea view', it was of a working fishing dock. The room itself was clean and well presented but the external balcony was very dirty covered in green mould. The hotel wi-fi could not be used in our room and I had to sit in a communial area to achieve a connection. The breakfast was good quality and plentiful. The owner of the hotel ingnored us during our stay and left the hotel maid to deal with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Friendly and well located!

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Friendly and helpful customer service from staff, great value for money and location.
Location: Trip to Seal Island outside the bay. Beach to play on. Local markets to shop in. Short distance into central Cape Town.
A friendly welcome and experience throughout our stay. Seacliffe Lodge is a great location near the beach and a number of great restaurants. The rates represent good value for money, particularly with a great breakfast!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Isifrom London

Close to beach and good seafood restaurant

Posted Mar 17, 2014
We had a great trip to Cape Town and it was nice to stay outside of the city near the coast with good access to Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch, Chapman's Peak, Cape Point,Constantia Valley and Stellenbosch. Our lodgings were comfortable clean and inviting, breakfast made to order and a good start to the day. Our needs and requests were promptly met and we were given helpful advice. Seafood restaurant opposite; very good and provided us with our evening meal within walking distance (2 minutes) and allowed us both to have a glass of wine. Car necessary for trips as transport links are limited
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by TORRELLIfrom France

Bonne étape à Hout Bay

Posted Feb 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Les plus : Hout Bay, accueil, petit déjeuner, confort, propreté, restaurant port de pêche à proximité. Les moins : environnement port de pêche avec ateliers transformation poissons.
3 out of 5
by cjwinthesunfrom Cyprus

A standard B&B

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: Location. Able to come and go freely. Honesty bar and nice sitting area. Good internet. Comfortable bed with nice bedding.
Cons: Very small and somewhat 'tired' shower room. No air con.
Location: Good location. Near beach, harbour and boat trip, local market, two very good restaurants and great for trip to Cape of Good Hope and Constantia wine
4 nights stay and adequate for our (couple) needs at the end of 16 nights along the garden route. Breakfast sufficient with fruit, cereals and choice of hot freshly cooked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Inge Joarfrom Norge

Meget hyggelig og trivelig

Posted Nov 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Alt var meget bra på dette hotellet. Servicen var hyggelig og varm, og maten var laget med omtanke. Anbefaler sterkt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Anthony Lfrom Beijing

Perfect for a short stay near Hout Bay

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
I visited South Africa for a business trip, and had an extra day to do an outing. I decided on a seal snorkeling trip at Hout Bay. I picked Seacliffe Lodge because I didn't have transportation and the hotel is an easy walk to the boats at Hout Bay. What's good about this hotel? It's homey and welcoming, with the owner giving me personal attention. It had a nice sherry that was complimentary in my room, which I tried. And breakfast was wonderful. The chef, whose name I can't remember right now, custom-made me a scrumptious egg white omelette, along with some sliced fruit and a few delicious sausages. During breakfast, he extolled on the virtues of South Africa. What a wonderful meal! What's not as good about this hotel? My room didn't have air conditioning, as far as I could tell. So, in bad weather, I don't know that this room would have been comfortable. Also, it's only a good location if you want to go to Hout Bay. Otherwise, it can be a bit out of the way for visiting stuff in Cape Town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Anitafrom Norway

Fantastic service, safe and cozy!

Posted May 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Apart from being a bit far from where is all happens this was an amazing lodge to stay at! We got to use the kitchen for cooking, the breakfast was amazing and to our preference every time, even when we had to leave super early or forgot to get up in the morning :) The bed was comfy, bathrooms huge. Over all a great experience! Ill stay there again if I go back! Tip! Rent a car if you are staying here, taxis are unreliable and public transport not too good.
3 out of 5
by Ayeletfrom London, United Kingdom

OK. But we've been to much better

Posted Apr 13, 2013
Pros: Rooms were nice
Cons: Attitude of the owners
Location: Hard to find, but good location
The hotel was ok and with nice rooms, but nothing too special. However, we stayed in many B&Bs in South Africa, and this was the one where we least felt welcome, mainly due to the owners' attitude. Would not be coming back.