Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very Pleasant

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Hosts, Room, breakfast, service were all good. The decor and standard of cleanliness was very high
Cons: Transport obtions to Cape Town and surrounding area. List of recommended taxis?
Location: Tai restaurant, Spar supermarket and shops. The area is very quiet and peaceful. It has a swimming pool and sun lounge and very beautiful gardens
My stay was only for one night, so I was not able to enjoy all of the facilities, however, my room, breakfast and the service was very good. The hosts were also very nice and helpful. They promptly returned to me some valuable items I had forgotten in the safe. My only reason for giving 4 stars is the fact that there is no easy access to Cape Town except by hired or private car. Even though it's about 20-30 mins drive from Cape Town, I couldn't get a taxi and since I did not drive I had to wait around to be collected.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by roy from langebaan

Break

Posted Feb 1, 2015 on Hotels
When we arrived we were told we were in the budget room queen bed was two singles pushed together 22" tv was 12" the room looked like converted garage other rooms may have been 5 star our room did not come up to one star curtains only just meet shower drain was blocked no shampoo the host were very friendly tv was poor only German news no sky or bbc I hope the owners will take note it looked a very nice place to stay but this room was not up to standard
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Lesley from san francisco

Africa Room - Southern Cross Guest House

Posted Jan 9, 2015 on Hotels
We had the Africa room at the Southern Guest house - it was big and had 2 bathrooms! There is a great patio & pool area as well as nice seating areas on the property. The hosts are friendly and helpful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Oubina from schengen

Feling home

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
Great Hospitality! Super friedly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent place to stay

Posted Dec 31, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent hotel with friendly hosts who were very welcoming and made use feel at home. The breakfast was great as well as the rooms which were very spacious and nicely decorated. There was a nice sundeck which overlooked the sea which was a great place to relax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good

Posted Nov 29, 2014
I only stayed for one night but the owners were lovely and the accommodation was great in all respects.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Edward Foster from Tryon NC

Friendly Hosts

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels
We had a great stay. Our room was 2 levels with charm and comfort. It was the finish to a 3 week trip. Marc and Claudia were the Best. Their recommendations were a big help. It was a lovely surrounding that was a nice finish to our South African adventure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mark from Leighton Buzzard

Beautiful space

Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels
Slightly away from the wine estates in Somerset West but easy to find and close to the mall - with a view out to sea from the decking. Well kept and recently renovated this is a summer spot to enjoy but wasn't bad in the pouring rain either! Very good sized room with a huge shower and a wide ranging breakfast there is something for everyone at Southern Cross guesthouse and we would certainly stay again if visiting Somerset West!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sam from Great Britain

Ideal safe location run by friendly hosts.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The location and ambience
Cons: N/A
Location: Wang Thai restaurant nearby, very good Thai food.
A short drive from Cape Town International and greeted by very friendly hosts. The area is very safe and the guest house is a short drive from the Mall. The room was highly appointed and very comfortable. The hosts paid a lot of attention to detail which reflects in the quality of guest house. The breakfast was very healthy and good quality. Would return with the whole family if I get a chance. One of the best guest houses I have stayed in (there have been many).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Golf
by dietmar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 14, 2014 on Hotels