Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Cal from USA

Good place to stay

Posted Apr 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
An excellent choice for a place to stay. It's secluded, off the beaten path, and it is a little oasis unto itself. It was not too busy while we were there, so that made it even more special to have some quiet time to ourselves. The staff was very hospitable and accommodating. The only negative was that there was no street address, so I had trouble finding it with my GPS. Other than that, everything was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rob from London

Beautiful new hotel in superb location

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: We enjoyed the peace, food and location which is superb. This is recent build and the pool and parking etc all made this such a perfect stay
Cons: Silly thing but the duvet was too heavy!!. Room was slightly small but we would live with both because we had such a great time.
Location: The vineyards and Stellenbosch are close by from a very rural setting.
This was the best location of our holiday. Already recommended to friends who are going to the Cape on their honeymoon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bettina from Cape Town

Nice escape from Cape Town

Posted Jan 11, 2014
Pros: location, architecture, garden, staff, breakfast, silence
Location: wine tasting, visit of Stellenbosch, visit at Hydro day spa
We only spent a night at Sugarbird Manor. Upon arrival, we were warmly received. Our room overlooked a beautiful garden and was very comfortable. We enjoyed the tea/coffee tray with biscuits. The layout of the room was well done. The bathroom, with shower and separate tub, was spacious and modern. The beds were so comfortable that we slept far longer than what we had planned. Breakfast was nicely presented, with fresh fruit, cheese, cold cuts, and eggs were available upon request. We will definitely go back to Sugarbird Manor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Bec & Matt from Australia

Beautiful Guesthouse

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
This guesthouse was a great little surprise!!! We were in Stellenbosch and had no accommodation booked, we were hoping to stay somewhere in town to be close to restaurants and shops, however once we started asking around we realised it is a very busy time of year and it was going to be difficult to find any accommodation. We booked Sugarbird through hotels.com. It is about 5 or so minutes drive out of town but it is stunning!!! The guesthouse itself is very large with lots of communal relaxation space, including a pool deck that was overlooking the beautiful mountains and vineyards! The room was clean, tidy and very comfortable. The staff were lovely and breakfast was also good. We had a great stay and would recommend to others, particularly if you would like to be out of the hustle and bustle of town and experience the peaceful serenity of this gorgeous place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fran from UK

Lovely views

Posted Oct 27, 2013
Pros: The rooms, views and outside space.
Cons: Signs on road at entrance.
Location: loads of wine tasting at Stellenbosch.
Loved staying at hotel. Rooms were lovely with magnificent views across the valley. Staff were relaxed and friendly and very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by J & C from UK

Tranquil and relaxing location

Posted Nov 28, 2012
Pros: The stunning views and luxurious accommodation.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Set a reasonable distance out of town with far reaching views of the vineyards and the mountains.
Superb accommodation with stunning views over the vineyards and onwards to the mountains Quiet location a good distance out of town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
Pleasant guesthouse, friendly staff, nice breakfast and nice setting
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mich from Perth, WA

Sugarbird is perfect for couples

Posted Jun 21, 2012
Pros: big room, yummy breakfast, extremely friendly staff
Cons: couldnt fault it!
Location: secluded and quiet with beautiful views of Stellenbosch but still only a 5-10 min drive out of town.
Sugarbird Manor is amazing and it actually looks like the pictures! My fiance and I stayed here for 7 nights in May and could not have hoped for a better experience. Thanks Ginny for making recommendations for dinner and then making the reservations for us. The room was sparkling clean, bed was comfy, water pressure in the shower fantastic, the views we woke up to each morning were phenomenal, and breakfast was delicious! My only regret is that it's a pity we werent there in summer as it was too cold to take advantage of the infinity pool! If you are staying here you should definitely have a car, which we did. Extremely safe complex, but the fence/gates were well away from the accommodation and mostly hidden by the lush gardens so you didnt even notice. Stellenbosch is a wonderful alternative to staying in Cape Town and to get away from the rush of a big city. Its only a half hour drive away and the peaceful surroundings are so relaxing and quiet, so you can really enjoy your holiday :) It really is a beautiful part of the world here. Even the cats were excited to see us each morning hehe We would definitely stay here again, next time in summer so I can take advantage of the infinity pool! thanks ladies for a wonderful stay Michelle and Slabber