Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from BCN

Nice house

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: Decoration is greatful and elegant.
Location: wineries
I'm enjoyed about my experience in Summerwood. I recommend this guest house and it would be better in summer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

friendly staff that gave us good service

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Borrowed bicycles and enjoied two nature sights that where suggested to us from the staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jeanna from Stockholm

Riktigt bra!!

Posted Apr 12, 2015 on Hotels
Vi bodde här en natt och jag önskar verkligen att vi hade stannat här längre. Vi hade turen att få rummet allra högst upp med fönster i alla vädersträck (!). Kikade även in i andra rum och de såg också riktigt trevliga ut. Det här är ett riktigt bra och prisvärt hotell! Riktigt bra service, riktigt bra och stora rum/sängar, utomordentligt bra frukost! Vi hade bil, och det var smidigt att ta sig till och från centrum/vingårdar. Hotellet kändes hemtrevligt, mysigt, modernt och fräscht. Det enda man bör ha i åtanke är att det inte finns någon hiss, dock erbjuder personalen såklart att bära upp väskor osv. Jag rekommenderar verkligen detta hotell!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Amazing Stay

Posted Mar 8, 2015
The staff at Summerwood was amazing. We had the best experience. The room was beautiful and clean. The garden and courtyard were so relaxing, quiet and beautiful. The guest house is in walking distance to all restaurants and shops in Stellenbosch. GREAT STAY!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable room but poor breakfast and overpriced

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Pleasant area and attractive building
Cons: Breakfast and noise.
We had stayed at Summerwood when under previous ownership about 6 years ago. Since then it has been modernised but remains a beautiful (if less characterful) building in a peaceful pleasant neighbourhood about 20 minutes walk from the centre of Stellenbosch. The room was satisfactory if not very large and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was attractive with a good bath and shower. Sadly this was not the excellent stay we had experienced previously. This was the most expensive guest house we stayed in while in South Africa and had the poorest quality breakfast (a meal which is almost always excellent in this country). It is self service and bland. There was lukewarm scrambled egg and bacon with a few mushrooms and tomatoes and no provision for any other types of hot food. Some cold meats and uninteresting fruit were provided. All the other guests commented on how poor this was. An additional drawback as the noise during the nights. Each morning dogs woke us with early start to barking. One night had heavy winds and the sash windows rattled throughout leaving all guests looking tired the next morning. Sadly we had hoped for a really good stay given our previous experience but we won't return to Summerwood. It is far too expensive for what is provided and there are much better guest houses in Stellenbosch which we have used before.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Summerwood in last jan. 2015

Posted Feb 3, 2015 on Hotels
Pænt stort værelse med adgang til terrasse. Møblerne ser lækre ud på hjemmesiden, men Ikea kvalitet, slidte hængsler etc. Nydeligt badeværelse. Gode senge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Eva

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 13, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bad Soden

Guter Ausgangspunkt für die Wein-Landschaften

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Das stylische Interior in einem 100 Jahre alten Gebäude.
Nettes Haus mit ausreichend großem Pool, hübsches Grundstück in Villengegend. Sehr stylisch dekoriert, gepflegt. Die rummelige Innenstadt von Stellenbosch ist kaum zu Fuss, aber in 5 bis 7 Min. mit dem Auto erreichbar. Guter Ausgangspunkt für Fahrten in die Weingüter, z. B. für ein "Picknick" zum Weingut Warwick. Für B & B nicht gerade preisgünstig, aber fair.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Este

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by The Adams Family

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Hotels