Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Amazing Stay

Posted Mar 8, 2015
The staff at Summerwood was amazing. We had the best experience. The room was beautiful and clean. The garden and courtyard were so relaxing, quiet and beautiful. The guest house is in walking distance to all restaurants and shops in Stellenbosch. GREAT STAY!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable room but poor breakfast and overpriced

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Pleasant area and attractive building
Cons: Breakfast and noise.
We had stayed at Summerwood when under previous ownership about 6 years ago. Since then it has been modernised but remains a beautiful (if less characterful) building in a peaceful pleasant neighbourhood about 20 minutes walk from the centre of Stellenbosch. The room was satisfactory if not very large and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was attractive with a good bath and shower. Sadly this was not the excellent stay we had experienced previously. This was the most expensive guest house we stayed in while in South Africa and had the poorest quality breakfast (a meal which is almost always excellent in this country). It is self service and bland. There was lukewarm scrambled egg and bacon with a few mushrooms and tomatoes and no provision for any other types of hot food. Some cold meats and uninteresting fruit were provided. All the other guests commented on how poor this was. An additional drawback as the noise during the nights. Each morning dogs woke us with early start to barking. One night had heavy winds and the sash windows rattled throughout leaving all guests looking tired the next morning. Sadly we had hoped for a really good stay given our previous experience but we won't return to Summerwood. It is far too expensive for what is provided and there are much better guest houses in Stellenbosch which we have used before.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Eva

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bad Soden

Guter Ausgangspunkt für die Wein-Landschaften

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Das stylische Interior in einem 100 Jahre alten Gebäude.
Nettes Haus mit ausreichend großem Pool, hübsches Grundstück in Villengegend. Sehr stylisch dekoriert, gepflegt. Die rummelige Innenstadt von Stellenbosch ist kaum zu Fuss, aber in 5 bis 7 Min. mit dem Auto erreichbar. Guter Ausgangspunkt für Fahrten in die Weingüter, z. B. für ein "Picknick" zum Weingut Warwick. Für B & B nicht gerade preisgünstig, aber fair.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by The Adams Family

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Tracyfrom New York, NY

Lovely Guest house

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed here with a friend while we were in Stellenbosch. Excellent location and service. Very comfortable beds. Only wish we could've stayed longer!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by New Yorkerfrom New York, NY

Amazing hotel/guesthouse-would recommend to anyone

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Great amenities, great staff, very beautiful.
Cons: Great as-is
Booked with Summerwood last minute (6pm on check-in day) on Expedia and got a great deal. Everything was great - grounds, safety, staff, other guests. The guesthouse has an honor code for snacks/wine/beer/etc, in which you pay at the end of your stay that was very reasonably priced compared to places we've stayed at in the past. We had a car rental, so we drove for a late dinner/drinks (9pm) into town, which was very close. Could not have asked for a better stay in Stellenbosch or a better experience here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Henrik

Personal

Posted Jan 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great people running the hotel. Really recommnedable
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 10, 2012 on Hotels.com