Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by James from Herbison

Posted Mar 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
For the price this is an absolutely beautiful place. The rooms are gorgeous and there is lots of great shared spaces to relax. My only complaint was the service. It took aver an hour to check in as the main manager was not there, and his staff had no clue how to help us. This happens often as we saw many others having the same problem on our two night stay. It was the same upon check out, alot of confusion and waiting. If you have a family or group of people and need a kitchen, I would recommend this place. If your looking for a quick stop I would avoid the hassle of checking in and out and stay elswhere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Buck from Minneapolis, MN

Quiet, pleasant neighborhood.

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Breakfast and location
Cons: Should include a fan in all bedrooms. Too hot and uncomfortable in the summertime without some ventilation.
Location: Mine was a business trip so the location was very convenient because my business partners live nearby for easy morning pickup.
Breakfast was excellent. Very helpful staff helped me enter the hotel despite my very late arrival time. Room was hot without ventilation and no fan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Canada

Nice up the hill

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Pros: location, ambiance, helpful staff
Cons: One suggestion: why dont any hotels in SA have telephones in rooms? Many of we "older" types dont carry cell phones when out of home territory.
Location: Quiet location, uphill, good restaurants close by
We started off being annoyed that our initial booking at Sweet Oceanview had been changed. (Travellers dont like surprises). But after the initial hassle of first, finding someone to talk to and b) moving to the Sweet Cream place, we were pleased with the new place... interesting decor and a bathroom bigger than the bedroom. Even had a view of the ocean, and the breakfast was amazing. Staff very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from england

Relaxing

Posted Feb 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
Great breakfast frendly staff,great veiw from balcony cheap mini bar what more could you ask for!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 27, 2011 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

cute place

Posted Aug 22, 2011
stayed in the seaboard II room. LOVED IT - the bathroom was beautiful, kitchen was wonderful - all and all a great experience
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austria

small " luxury" room with very tiny bathroom

Posted Jun 6, 2011
we booked a "luxury" room, which was quite small and the bathroom TINY with MOULD growing in the corners and the floor of the shower. I should not have checked the "luxury" button, for a standard room it would have been okay, the bathroom still very tiny. There was a sliding door to the bathroom, because there was no space in our room for a door to open. snacks/ drinks: as previous travelers have described the bill for that service was NOT accurate- the list attached was a total different one. Definitely not worthy 4 stars. The breakfast that some travelers recommended was okay in our opinion, nothing special. I had much better in a nice Guest House in Franschhoek. We had a shard common area (which we hardly used): kind of living room and a kitchen as well as a small patio, which we shared with two other rooms. Our room was NOT in the main building (Sweet Ocean View) but in a house next to that building, which only had one floor- no view at all except for parked cars and exhaust fumes, when they left, or sat there with idling engine. The pool was also not available at this time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Friendly Guest House

Posted Jun 2, 2011
Nice place to stay. We stayed in one of the Victorian Villas opposite the main guesthoust building and really enjoyed it. If you stay in one of the villas you have your own private room with bathroom and you share the kitchen, living room and patio with guests of the 2nd room. It is a very friendly set up and you help yourself to beers in the fridge (you just write down what you have taken so they can bill it to your room) and free tea and coffee (you can cook your meals if you want to). The Villas are lovely with wooden floors and nicely decorated and very clean. Although it is about a 20/30 minute walk to the waterfront, there are buses or shared taxis you can take for 50 pence and the area is very safe. We walked around at night without any problems.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Moncton, NB, Canada

Very different but in a good way!

Posted Feb 20, 2011
We paid extra (negligent amount) for a "deluxe" room, but do not know what made ours different from any other room in the guest house. The room was totally unique, with African masks and geckos as wall decoration, the bed was fabulous, the shower was also great.The old gramaphone was a nice touch but a small fridge would have been wonderful. Small safe in room very useful. We also paid extra for breakfast, which was available every morning from around 7:45; an 8 place table was set with large containers of cereal and fruit, wonderful breads, meats, cheeses, and were offered eggs cooked to order. Honor bar on top floor with good prices, top deck with jacuzzi (needed 8 hours notice to be heated?) Small private patio with lounger and chair and table off bedroom. It was disconcerting to find staff member in the lounger on our patio upon returning to the room early, but maybe that is an accepted practice (TIA, not North America, remember!) I would suggest a top floor room, where you get more sun on the patio later into the day and a better view. Good location. There are also completely independent self catering houses across the street owned/operated by Sweetest, if you want more privacy or space. I imagine they would be just as nicely furnished. I liked the guest house so much I have promised to treat relatives to a stay there! Also recommend getting airport transfers - stressfree pick up and dropoffs worth the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 27, 2010 on Hotels.com