Ratings based on 185 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom België

Leuk hotel in het centrum maar toch zeer rustig

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: Er was gratis busje die elk dag van 8 tot 12 en van 16 tot 20 u reed naar Waterfront en Tafelberg, elk uur. Zeer behulpzaam personeel
Zeer prachtige natuur, niet te missen Tafelberg, Kirstenbosch, Waterfront, Robbeneiland, Kaap de Goede Hoop, Cape Point, Bounders Bay met de pinguins ....Zeer lekker eten voor weinig geld, zeer vriendelijke mensen die behulpzaam willen zijn maar toch opletten om bestolen te worden, zo is mijn bankkaart gestolen aan de automaat. Tip, geen geld afhalen rond 18.00 u want dan is er de wissel van de politie en zijn deze ook niet op straat en daar maken dievenbendes gebruik van.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Superb Downtown hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: convenient position, service, food, value for money.
Cons: nothing significant
The Taj is a very comfortable hotel situated in downtown Cape Town close to museums, shops and restaurants. We stayed there for five nights at the end of our trip to the Cape. The service was excellent, lots of attention to detail like the waitress remembering your name each morning as you arrived at the restaurant. Our package included breakfast which was perfect with the possibility to select from the buffet and order specific cooked choices from the à la carte menu. Parking is a bit more tricky since the car park is in a separate building, so a bit of a slog to move your cases around, although in all fairness, the hotel offers a valet parking service so you don't have to do what we did! We picked a room in the Tower with mountain views which gave a spectacular view of Table Mountain. All in all, a very pleasant stay and good value since the Expedia offer gave a 30% discount.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte, NC

Staff was very accommodating and cordial.

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: Scenery and service.
Cons: The IT area. It was too complicated to get material printed.
Location: There was plenty of shoping and the scenery was beautiful and historical site to visit.
We had a very pleasant stay. There was a mix up with the stay at our previous hotel and the staff at the Taj were very helpful the the arangements.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Return to an old favorite

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: Staff food and service
Cons: Value for money
Location: Excellent in centre for eveything
This was my second visit to the Taj and it is still very good. I do believe it to be pricey now as apposed to last year , which was excellent . My room whilst higher up than last year was in my opinion smaller and not as good. That being said the staff ,food and service cannot be faulted and every guest is treated as a special one by everybody. Especial mention to the front desk staff on helping me after my wallet and credit cards where pickpocketed at the Carnival. All people should try the Taj at least once when in Cape Town, I will again some time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Great service

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Excellent staff, Central location, very clean, great amenities and good food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Hotel was excellent !

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Location: do the 2 hour tour that the freelance tour guides in the hotel supply.
We flew with Virgin Atlantic and was not impressed with the airline, unless you pay extra for premium seats the standard economy seats are very cramped. We had good experiences with the hotel, the staff were very friendly and the hotel has a wonderful spa. The restaurants are great, the breakfast buffet is very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Barbara, CA

Supurb hotel in center of Cape Town

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: In the center of town. Everything at your door step.
Loved the hotel, the room, the service and the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent 5 star hotel

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Everything about the hotel is perfect; from the staff to every single little detail. The bathrooms are gorgeous, the room ambience, perfect. I enjoyed every single second in the Taj. I definitely will be on the look out for Taj hotels in any country I am visiting. Its worth every penny.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Great location, top tier amenities and service.

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: A perfect room and a friendly, eager to please staff. Very centrally located. There's a nice little pub-type place on the premises.
Cons: Of the services I used, nothing comes to mind
Location: Walking tours of the historic town center, Table Mountain, Cape Point, wineries...
The decor, appointments and cleanliness of the room was awesome. The view was stunning. The bedding was so comfortable. The concierge was very helpful in putting together a couple last minute excursions for us. And finally, the breakfast was unbeatable in terms of both variety and quality. Possibly the best hotel stay I've had. Certainly in the top 3.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mitsue

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels.com