Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This was a great hotel!

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Location: The location wasn't the best in terms of the surrounding area, but it was in close proximity to a lot of things.
The staff and accommodations were wonderful. Matthew was absolutely fantastic! It was sure to help in any way he could and made our stay enjoyable. The hotel is very clean and nice. When you come, make sure you sign up for the 'Taj Club Member' experience, it definitely will increase the enjoyment of your stay. You get 'happy hour,' 'afternoon tea,' and personalized service! It's definitely worth the extra money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julia from London

Great central hotel

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Pool & gym were excellent. Staff were all very friendly and welcoming - excellent service.
Great hotel - comfortable modern rooms, great breakfast, unusually good gym and a 15m pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Gail from Jackson, NJ

great location

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: trip advisor
Location: St. George's church right across the street, Company Gardens around corner.
Stayed at hotel for 3 nights, did walking tour from hotel lobby, great location. Also, picked up hop on hop off bus right across the street. Room spacious, bathroom beautiful. Breakfast buffet average. Check in smooth. Only complaint was one member of the front desk staff. She should change her profession to someplace where she doesn't have to deal with people. The rest of the staff great. Did not get fruit or chocolates 2nd day. Had to request them again on 3rd day. This should not happen at such a nice hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by NP from Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Lovely hotel!

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Great in all areas. Would definitely recommmend it and wouks stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Donald from Aberdeenshire , Scotland , UK

Central Location

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Everything - from the public spaces , restaurants , bars and bedrooms and most importantly the great level of friendly service from the staff.
Cons: Nothing that I can think of
Location: Good central location , taxi to Waterfront were very reasonable at around gbp 4.00 Hop on hop off bus stop very close to hotel which is a must do
Very nice hotel with a wonderful friendly staff who do their very best to make you welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Am from UK

Perfect location, excellent hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Exceptional service from all staff, the location, the free guided city walking tour which was brilliant. The room was spacious and comfortable.
Cons: The tv network went down in our stay for a few days, and sometimes the wifi connection wasnt great. But apart from that, cant fault this hotel.
Location: The location was ideal- the cathedral is opposite and the red city bus tour stops here. The many restaurants and bars nearby.
There's nothing I can fault about the Taj hotel from the minute we arrived to when we left. The staff were all courteous, friendly and helpful. The room was fabulous, spacious and clean with a beautiful view overlooking table mountain. The breakfast buffet had a large selection of good quality food. The location was ideal as it was in the historic city centre and close to long street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from London

Amazing facilities and friendly staff

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: The staff were very helpful and the rooms were comfortable and well maintained.
My stay here was amazing. The room (admittedly with a bad view) was beautifully furnished and maintained. The level of service was outstanding and the staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. They also offer room service from the Bombay Brasserie, which was fantastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by shumi from london

City centre hotel with table mountain views

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: I enjoyed the complimentary shuttle services, breakfast buffet service and room with balcony and modern bathroom facilities
Cons: We could have received more or bigger complimentary water bottles and better introduction to how to book daily tours
Location: Great city centre location with many great museums and local restaurants and bars
Lovely hotel with oriental and African fused decorations and fantastic gym facilities. The hotel didn't feel crowded with guests in February and provided a safe and welcome oasis from which to enjoy the sights and sounds of Cape Town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pioneer Tourist from Stockport UK

Convenient hotel in the centre of Cape Town

Posted Feb 22, 2014
Pros: Good price, polite and helpful staff, good facilities. Central location
Cons: Needs an outdoor space eg. A roof terrace
Location: Good central - nice gardens opposite, near to shops shuttle service to the waterfront.
Easy to find, central location is convenient. Would be better if it had an outdoor space eg a roof terrace.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JHAVERI

Excellent indian restaurant !

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Rooms were very comfortable , receptionist forceded us out of the rooms at check out and gave us no extra time for late checkout.