Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Wonderful stay at a great hotel. Super attentive and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scarborough uk

taj hotel cape town

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Nothing was too much trouble for the staff to facilitate when asked to do so and in doing this made the stay more than enjoyable
Cons: gym a little small if you like that type of thing as with the small pool
Location: central location for town centre and a hub for attractions nearby
a most enjoyable stay from day one early check in but no problem as room made available. most attentive and helpful friendly staff throughout our stay. Room very well appointed and well maintained throughout. Breakfast a most enjoyable experience with all tastes well catered for. Mint restaurant most satisfactory and reasonable price wise. A smoking room adjacent to lobby available for those who need one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Fred from Melbourne

Old School Elegance

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: The staff are extremely well trained and go out of their way to make you feel at home. Nothing is too much effort.
Our second stay at this hotel. Definitely our first choice whenever we visit Cape Town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel near Company Gardens

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Great staff, nice hotel near city center. Safe neighborhood. About a mile f Rom V&A waterfront.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This was a great hotel!

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Location: The location wasn't the best in terms of the surrounding area, but it was in close proximity to a lot of things.
The staff and accommodations were wonderful. Matthew was absolutely fantastic! It was sure to help in any way he could and made our stay enjoyable. The hotel is very clean and nice. When you come, make sure you sign up for the 'Taj Club Member' experience, it definitely will increase the enjoyment of your stay. You get 'happy hour,' 'afternoon tea,' and personalized service! It's definitely worth the extra money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julia from London

Great central hotel

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Pool & gym were excellent. Staff were all very friendly and welcoming - excellent service.
Great hotel - comfortable modern rooms, great breakfast, unusually good gym and a 15m pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Gail from Jackson, NJ

great location

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: trip advisor
Location: St. George's church right across the street, Company Gardens around corner.
Stayed at hotel for 3 nights, did walking tour from hotel lobby, great location. Also, picked up hop on hop off bus right across the street. Room spacious, bathroom beautiful. Breakfast buffet average. Check in smooth. Only complaint was one member of the front desk staff. She should change her profession to someplace where she doesn't have to deal with people. The rest of the staff great. Did not get fruit or chocolates 2nd day. Had to request them again on 3rd day. This should not happen at such a nice hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by NP from Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Lovely hotel!

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Great in all areas. Would definitely recommmend it and wouks stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Donald from Aberdeenshire , Scotland , UK

Central Location

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Everything - from the public spaces , restaurants , bars and bedrooms and most importantly the great level of friendly service from the staff.
Cons: Nothing that I can think of
Location: Good central location , taxi to Waterfront were very reasonable at around gbp 4.00 Hop on hop off bus stop very close to hotel which is a must do
Very nice hotel with a wonderful friendly staff who do their very best to make you welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Am from UK

Perfect location, excellent hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Exceptional service from all staff, the location, the free guided city walking tour which was brilliant. The room was spacious and comfortable.
Cons: The tv network went down in our stay for a few days, and sometimes the wifi connection wasnt great. But apart from that, cant fault this hotel.
Location: The location was ideal- the cathedral is opposite and the red city bus tour stops here. The many restaurants and bars nearby.
There's nothing I can fault about the Taj hotel from the minute we arrived to when we left. The staff were all courteous, friendly and helpful. The room was fabulous, spacious and clean with a beautiful view overlooking table mountain. The breakfast buffet had a large selection of good quality food. The location was ideal as it was in the historic city centre and close to long street.