Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Courtney from Washington DC

Cape Town go-to

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
I love this place. This was my second trip to Cape Town and I made a point to end my trip by staying at The Charles Guesthouse (after a lot of moving around with a larger group). It's in a great location out of the hub-bub of the City Center, but close enough to walk anywhere. The neighborhood is very charming and friendly with good bars, cafes, street parking, etc. The staff at The Charles have always been very friendly and helpful and the rooms are very comfortable. I also like their arrangement with the cafe down the street for breakfast. It takes the pressure off of the guesthouse breakfast set-up. I highly recommend The Charles Guesthouse for your stay in Cape Town if you are looking for someplace quiet but that gives you a neighborhood vibe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pierre from Brooklyn, NY

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Martin from UK

Great location

Posted Dec 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed all aspects although needed night mask as daylight through blinds
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by jnj from Australia

great location

Posted Sep 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
very comfortable & pleasant area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Courtney from Boston, MA

Fabulous

Posted Aug 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stayed in about a half dozen places across Cape Town during the two weeks I visited and Charles Guest House was my absolute favorite. Great location, incredibly friendly staff, comfortable and clean room. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Susan from DC

Perfect Guest House in Cape Town

Posted Aug 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
I cannot say enough nice things about the Charles. The room was spacious and lovely, the staff incredibly helpful and the location was perfect. The staff helped us with booking tours and with dinner ideas and were incredibly friendly. The breakfast that was provided at the nearby Village Cafe was always delicious. My only complaint is that I didn't have time to enjoy the many outdoor patio options, but I will make sure to have more down time on my next visit, which will definitely include a stay at the Charles.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very average

Posted Jun 10, 2013
Great location, but sorely in need of some TLC. So, OK, but over-priced for what it was.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sterling from Stuttgart

Excellent location in nice neighborhood

Posted May 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Guest House was nicely situated in a great walking neighborhood. We had a car and parking was not hard to find. We were given great ideas of what to do for a full day including a drive to Cape Point; see the penguins at Boulders; drive along the coast and have a dinner to watch the sunset in Camps Bay. We did it all and had a super visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Troy from Silver Spring MD

great staff and terrific location

Posted May 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
The rooms in the Charles are basic and simply furnished but clean. The staff was terrific and very friendly and helpful. The location in the heart of the De Waterkant neighborhood in Cape Town's "city bowl" can't be beat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, California

The Charles Luxury Guest House

Posted May 1, 2011 on Hotels.com
Very friendly staff, clean, centrally located and the breakfast was quite good.