Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Refund please!

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Was given room number 10 which is at the back of the lodge away from the main building. Room was decorated well with nice items from a budget home decorating store. (Prices still on) bath was damaged and dated. Walls had mould. Water was brown and bathroom made us feel dirty. The staff was asking personal questions and came accross judgemental. They decided to start breaking out walls in the room next door at 19-00 and were making so much noice we thought about leaving but the free wifi is only in the nain building and not where we were put. Had to walk back to the main building to do anything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Courtneyfrom Washington DC

Cape Town go-to

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
I love this place. This was my second trip to Cape Town and I made a point to end my trip by staying at The Charles Guesthouse (after a lot of moving around with a larger group). It's in a great location out of the hub-bub of the City Center, but close enough to walk anywhere. The neighborhood is very charming and friendly with good bars, cafes, street parking, etc. The staff at The Charles have always been very friendly and helpful and the rooms are very comfortable. I also like their arrangement with the cafe down the street for breakfast. It takes the pressure off of the guesthouse breakfast set-up. I highly recommend The Charles Guesthouse for your stay in Cape Town if you are looking for someplace quiet but that gives you a neighborhood vibe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pierrefrom Brooklyn, NY

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Martinfrom UK

Great location

Posted Dec 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed all aspects although needed night mask as daylight through blinds
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by jnjfrom Australia

great location

Posted Sep 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
very comfortable & pleasant area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Courtneyfrom Boston, MA

Fabulous

Posted Aug 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stayed in about a half dozen places across Cape Town during the two weeks I visited and Charles Guest House was my absolute favorite. Great location, incredibly friendly staff, comfortable and clean room. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Susanfrom DC

Perfect Guest House in Cape Town

Posted Aug 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
I cannot say enough nice things about the Charles. The room was spacious and lovely, the staff incredibly helpful and the location was perfect. The staff helped us with booking tours and with dinner ideas and were incredibly friendly. The breakfast that was provided at the nearby Village Cafe was always delicious. My only complaint is that I didn't have time to enjoy the many outdoor patio options, but I will make sure to have more down time on my next visit, which will definitely include a stay at the Charles.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very average

Posted Jun 10, 2013
Great location, but sorely in need of some TLC. So, OK, but over-priced for what it was.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sterlingfrom Stuttgart

Excellent location in nice neighborhood

Posted May 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Guest House was nicely situated in a great walking neighborhood. We had a car and parking was not hard to find. We were given great ideas of what to do for a full day including a drive to Cape Point; see the penguins at Boulders; drive along the coast and have a dinner to watch the sunset in Camps Bay. We did it all and had a super visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Troyfrom Silver Spring MD

great staff and terrific location

Posted May 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
The rooms in the Charles are basic and simply furnished but clean. The staff was terrific and very friendly and helpful. The location in the heart of the De Waterkant neighborhood in Cape Town's "city bowl" can't be beat.