Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Great experience, excellent service

Posted Apr 5, 2015
The Charles staff are excellent, very helpful and informative. They overbooked the hotel, so they put us up in a two room suite with a hot tub! We will stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Great location, lovely staff!

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Really nice guesthouse, low key, nice staff, safe, very good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2015
My favourite place to stay in Cape Town. Relaxed, friendly, comfortable, clean & excellent value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom amsterdam

Perfecte thuisbasis in trendy Kaapstad

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Vooral de centrale ligging aan de trendy Waterkant, vlak bij Long Street en het treinstation vanwaar de MyCitybussen vertrekken.
Cons: Het ontbijt is inclusief, maar met je voucher kun je ook ontbijten bij het veel leukere Village Café. Dat werd er niet bijgezegd.
Location: Luxe winkelcentrum om de hoek, veel trendy winkels, cafees en restaurants.
Als je houdt van kleinschalig, persoonlijk en comfortabel dan is dit het ideale hotel in Kaapstad. Vooral het grote dakterras is een pluspunt. Kamer 6 is met name aan te bevelen omdat het een privé-terrasje heeft dat door planten is afgescheiden van het grote dakterras. Aan de overkant ligt de levendige bar Manhattan, dus met een flesje witte wijn uit de koelkast op de kamer kun je meegenieten van de feestelijke cafésfeer op je eigen terras. En als je deel uit wilt uitmaken van het feestgedruis dan steek je de straat over.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom uk

Great Place

Posted Nov 26, 2014
What a great place, we had a room with a separate lounge a bedroom with a roll top bath in the centre of it, also with a shower room plus a super king size bed, all the staff were very helpful in a great area not far from the V & A waterfront, great breakfast would highly recommend it
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Refund please!

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Was given room number 10 which is at the back of the lodge away from the main building. Room was decorated well with nice items from a budget home decorating store. (Prices still on) bath was damaged and dated. Walls had mould. Water was brown and bathroom made us feel dirty. The staff was asking personal questions and came accross judgemental. They decided to start breaking out walls in the room next door at 19-00 and were making so much noice we thought about leaving but the free wifi is only in the nain building and not where we were put. Had to walk back to the main building to do anything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Bra läge i Waterkant

Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Ett perfekt hotell i Waterkant med nära gångavstånd till resturanger och barer. Hotellet har ett lugnt läge i ett tryggt område med fin utsikt. Ett stort plus för rymligt badkar samt (liten) pool! Väldigt trevlig och hjälpsam personal i receptionen. Frukosten arrangeras via ett lokalt café.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Courtneyfrom Washington DC

Cape Town go-to

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
I love this place. This was my second trip to Cape Town and I made a point to end my trip by staying at The Charles Guesthouse (after a lot of moving around with a larger group). It's in a great location out of the hub-bub of the City Center, but close enough to walk anywhere. The neighborhood is very charming and friendly with good bars, cafes, street parking, etc. The staff at The Charles have always been very friendly and helpful and the rooms are very comfortable. I also like their arrangement with the cafe down the street for breakfast. It takes the pressure off of the guesthouse breakfast set-up. I highly recommend The Charles Guesthouse for your stay in Cape Town if you are looking for someplace quiet but that gives you a neighborhood vibe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by becfrom Sverige

Rent, snyggt.

Posted Feb 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Bra service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sehr schöne und relativ zentrale villge.

Posted Jan 25, 2014
Pros: Die mitarbeiten und deren hilfsbereit.
Cons: wifi in Zimmer
einfache Gasthaus, das Zimmer und das Badezimmer sind groß, modern und neue renoviert. Leider ist im Zimmer keine wifi Verbindung möglich, nur an die Rezeption. Die Mitarbeiter sind sehr sehr nett und hilfsbereit. Frühstück wird nicht im Gasthaus servieren, Sonden in einem kleinen Café in der Nähe.