Ratings based on 199 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Natalia from Colombia

Old, bad food, good location

Posted Apr 19, 2014
This is an old hotel with an overall run-down aspect. The food is very bad except for breakfast and the front desk staff are unable to give your messages to other guests. The only good thing is the location, very close to the V&A waterfront (but with no view of the waterfront itself )
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by peter from Sheffield UK

holiday

Posted Apr 12, 2014
great location,easy walking distance to V&A . Quality hotel and excellant value for money
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Americans living in Sweden from Sweden

Great Location on the V&A Waterfront

Posted Jan 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location with a short walk to the V&A Waterfront. The main reason we rated a 3 for maintenance was the shower in our hotel room. It was awful. The water temperature and pressure changed throughout every shower which was miserable. Hotel staff was helpful and attentive with specific requests and overall hotel was safe, nice, clean, and relatively quiet given location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maggie from California

Most pleasant. Staff very helpful. No complaints

Posted Dec 31, 2013
Pros: Everything. Food, room, staff, all wonderful
Location: Excellant location. Walking distance to wharf and easy access to tours of the city and the Cape and wine country. Wonderful.
See above
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by B Davis

Great central location, great customer service

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was treated like gold during my brief 2 day, 1 night stay. The staff was friendly and helpful in every way, 'no' was not in their vocabulary. I would highly recommend this as a safe, clean and comfortable place to stay. As a single female, the location was perfect, a nice neighbourhood that allowed me to walk safely to many of the local attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by nrojb from Seden

Posted Oct 31, 2013
Pros: Cozy with style
Location: Convenient location to Cape Town water front.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Matthew from New Zealand

Great location and a safe easy walk from V & A

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Pros: Wonderful staff .... Helpful and friendly. Nothing was a bother and they all have lovely smiles.
Cons: The restaurant for breakfast is good but we weren't impressed with our evening meal and wouldn't recommend using again.
Location: Excellent location just a short walk to the V&A waterfront. Highly recommend using the Red buses. buy the 2 day pass.
This is a very nice hotel with wonderful friendly staff. This was our first visit to Cape Town and we were very impressed with the two help desks in terms of their advice and assistance. They gave us ideas and advise that improved our Cape Town experience. 'Mr Smiley' on the front door is an absolute delight.
3 out of 5
by NRGT from London

OK Hotel in a very good location

Posted Sep 29, 2013
Pros: Reception staff, in particular Melissa, and other staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good.
Cons: As written above under experience, the room description could be improved as good general room maintenance.
Location: The hotel has a great location for the V&A waterfront with many shops, restaurants, and bars within walking distance.
We arrived early in the morning and the room was ready for us to check-in which was great (normal check-in time is 2pm). We booked for a 'Suite Queen sized bed', the bed was queen sized bed but the room was ordinary definitely not what we would regard as a suite by UK standards. The bathroom had a sewer like smell for most of the stay and water leaked through the shower screen to flood the bathroom floor. The air conditioning has a gap through the wall which blew cold air in constantly, this might be a benefit in summer but not in winter/spring.
3 out of 5
by Ann from Singapore

Hotel Facilites & Surrounding

Posted Sep 18, 2013
Pros: Lobby very nice look
Cons: Hotel room toilet need to renovation so that when we bath, water flow faster but not to "flood" the floor.
Location: Access to Waterfront easily to do shopping and having dinner and taking Hop buses.
Staff friendly but need 2 ask a few times before thing done. Wi-fi have but very bad to connet & very slow.Food ok. Near to Waterfront. Bed in the room so so. Cant have activate on the bed for lover because it make alot of noise that irriate lover. On the whole just a short stay ok cos it near Waterfront.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2013
Pros: Everything no complaints
Location: Location was central to the V&A Waterfront. 3 minute walk at the most. 8 minutes from Camps bay by taxi.
The commodore Hotel was perfect for the 6 nights I had in Cape Town. The hotel reception was very helpful with information and very efficient. The rooms were clean tidy and the beds were comfy air con was perfect no complaints. Breakfast was perfect every day it was faultless with the quality. The hotel was perfectly located 3 minute walk from the V&A Waterfront (great for food and shopping). When I return to Cape Town I won't hesitate to book back in the Commodore.