Ratings based on 205 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

A few days in Cape Town

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Very friendly staff.
Cons: The bath tub sink plug is in the way during shower.
Location: Close to water front. Nice location.
Very accommodating staff, responded to all requests and questions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carol from Australia

A gem in great location

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Right from the word go we were made to feel special. Our room was not quite ready (as we were there early) so sat us down and gave us a pot of coffee by the fire to wait. Breakfast area superb d├ęcor and food wonderful. The staff were always helpful and cheerful and gave us information about the hotel, surrounds, where we could do a wonderful walk to the coast. Would stay here again. Great value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by liza from st andrews

Excellent position, very good value

Posted May 17, 2014
The hotel is a little old fashioned but the facilities are excellent. The room was well stocked with tea, ground coffee and a cafetiere ,bottled water. The bar is very pleasant and good for a casual meal- bar staff are charming. Very good breakfast buffet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by cheryl from Adelaide, South Australia.

Fantastic staff

Posted May 15, 2014
We stayed for a week at the Commodore & found that each staff member went out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. The hotel is in walking distance to the waterfront which made it easy to get around & to do trips such as to Robben Island. Table Mountain & the Lions Head are 10 minutes drive away, Camp Bay 15 minutes, so the location is very central.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Good location, wonderful breakfast and porters

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Everything was good except parking could have been marked better and the rooms are a little dated. Concierge, desk evening staff, bellman were happy and helpful. Breakfast staff were awesome particularly the guy making eggs and a female possibly manager/supervisor I observed engaging with the kids. Easter bunny was a nice touch although we don't have kids I am sure it was a particular hit with them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superb location close to the V&A Waterfront

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: the location, facilities, breakfast, rate
Cons: new carpet and bathroom
Location: Excellent location, 5 minutes walk to the waterfront, V&A.
The bathrom needs a little updating but besides that the hotel offered excellent facilites incluidng in room WIFI, tour desk and swimming pool. The breakfast was varied and well presented.
3 out of 5
by Natalia from Colombia

Old, bad food, good location

Posted Apr 19, 2014
This is an old hotel with an overall run-down aspect. The food is very bad except for breakfast and the front desk staff are unable to give your messages to other guests. The only good thing is the location, very close to the V&A waterfront (but with no view of the waterfront itself )
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by peter from Sheffield UK

holiday

Posted Apr 12, 2014
great location,easy walking distance to V&A . Quality hotel and excellant value for money
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Americans living in Sweden from Sweden

Great Location on the V&A Waterfront

Posted Jan 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location with a short walk to the V&A Waterfront. The main reason we rated a 3 for maintenance was the shower in our hotel room. It was awful. The water temperature and pressure changed throughout every shower which was miserable. Hotel staff was helpful and attentive with specific requests and overall hotel was safe, nice, clean, and relatively quiet given location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maggie from California

Most pleasant. Staff very helpful. No complaints

Posted Dec 31, 2013
Pros: Everything. Food, room, staff, all wonderful
Location: Excellant location. Walking distance to wharf and easy access to tours of the city and the Cape and wine country. Wonderful.
See above