Ratings based on 217 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Welcoming and elegant

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Comfy bed and location to the V & A, service, breakfast, view
Location: 5 minutes walk to V & A (and to Nelson Mandela Museum); 15 minutes derive to Table Mountain; 5 minutes drive to city centre or the new stadium
Made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Staff went out of their way to assist with an issue that arose and successfully resolved it. Immediately corrected anything that was not working or incorrect in the room. Within 5 minutes walking distance from the V & A. Excellent un-rushed breakfast with a 3 and half hour period to have it, so you could have a lay-in if you wanted. Easy to find and get to from airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location close to restaurants

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Fantastic location, close to wharf, shopping mall and plenty of restaurants. Safe and easy to walk to dinner and bus stops. Beautiful hotel, staff very helpful in all aspects. Pillows and bed could have been more comfortable, but adequate. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

A few days in Cape Town

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Very friendly staff.
Cons: The bath tub sink plug is in the way during shower.
Location: Close to water front. Nice location.
Very accommodating staff, responded to all requests and questions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carol from Australia

A gem in great location

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Right from the word go we were made to feel special. Our room was not quite ready (as we were there early) so sat us down and gave us a pot of coffee by the fire to wait. Breakfast area superb d├ęcor and food wonderful. The staff were always helpful and cheerful and gave us information about the hotel, surrounds, where we could do a wonderful walk to the coast. Would stay here again. Great value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Stan from Las vegas NV

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is an outstanding Hotel - I would highly recommend it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Carmen from Florida

Affordable. Great Location

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very comfortable. Staff was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Except for the Queen size mattress, I have only used a King. That was uncomfortable, not the hotel's fault. Because of its position, parking should have been included, otherwise an enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by liza from st andrews

Excellent position, very good value

Posted May 17, 2014
The hotel is a little old fashioned but the facilities are excellent. The room was well stocked with tea, ground coffee and a cafetiere ,bottled water. The bar is very pleasant and good for a casual meal- bar staff are charming. Very good breakfast buffet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by cheryl from Adelaide, South Australia.

Fantastic staff

Posted May 15, 2014
We stayed for a week at the Commodore & found that each staff member went out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. The hotel is in walking distance to the waterfront which made it easy to get around & to do trips such as to Robben Island. Table Mountain & the Lions Head are 10 minutes drive away, Camp Bay 15 minutes, so the location is very central.