Ratings based on 308 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Ideal location

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: Central location
Cons: The room was a little "tired" looking (flaking paint in the bathroom, multi-plug adaptor didn't work properly) but it was clean and comfortable.
The hotel is perfectly located - within easy walking distance to the V&A Waterfront but not in the centre of the hustle and bustle. Lovely little pool area for anyone who just wants to chill out. Probably not one for people looking for a "beach holiday" but nicely central for those wanting to enjoy everything else Cape Town has to offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sevenum

Rust,kalmte en bedrijvigheid.

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: De manier waarop je op een leuke en zeer menselijke manier contact kunt krijgen met alle lagen van het personeel.
Cons: Bij de offerte aangeven wat en hoe hoog de extra kosten/toeslagen zijn voor de boeking.De shuttle zou gratis kunnen zijn.Zie andere hotels.
Location: Locatie is prachtig gelegen t.o.v het grote winkelcentrum Waterfront.Shoppen,lekker eten en een wijntje.Wat let je?Shuttle bus en -wagen beschikbaar t
Moe ? Genoeg plaats en gelegenheid om ,tussen de bedrijven door ,van wat rust te genieten. Neem een lekker glas koele Sauvignon Blanc bij de bar of neem een duik in het ,overigens niet verwarmde, zwembad.Zeer net hotel en uiterst capabel en dienstvaardig personeel !Chapeau !
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No negotiating

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Booked the wrong date and no one would help to change the reservation . Very frustrating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tennessee

Convenient Location, reasonable price

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Pros: Location, services, reasonable rate
Location: Victoria and Alfred Waterfront has many restaurants, shops, and a supermarket
Hotel is located in a convenient and safe spot. Staff were friendly and very helpful. The customer service at the concierge desk was very instrumental in giving recommendation and booking reservations for restaurants and attractions. If you drive, we highly recommend using the hotel's parking for a daily fee as there are no nearby free parking. The breakfast buffet was included in the room rate, and it had great selections. Although we brought along a universal adaptor to charge our laptop and iPad, our adaptor could not fit into the South African outlet, we ended up asking the front desk for a loaner adaptor. The only limitation was that they did not have enough loaner available. If you have half-day between the check out time and your departure flight, we highly recommend that you put your luggage at the Bell desk, do whatever you like in town, return to the hotel and use their Spa service and take a relaxing shower prior to heading for the airport, the expense at the Spa is much less expensive than paying additional fee for late check out. All in all, it is a great hotel. We will definitely return when we visit Cape Town again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney.

Great location but bathrooms in need of face-lift

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathrooms
The Commodore is ideally located at the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront. The breakfast egg station chef was wonderful but at times the other staff seemed to be overwhelmed. The room was reasonable but the bathroom was poking very dated and the pillows were too soft and flat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Great hotel close to the v and a waterfront

Posted Sep 20, 2014
I booked this hotel after reading many reviews and they were all spot on! The staff here was great! The rooms were nice and cleaned twice a day. The breakfast was included and was plentiful! The wi-fi was fast. Overall a great place! The only concern was the street it is on is deserted at night and for two girls walking after dark a little scary especially with the homeless beggars you encounter on the way back to the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Karalynfrom USA

Great location and service

Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Commodore is well located and the staff are friendly. Concierges were very helpful and honest when booking excursions. Hotel overall felt a touch dated and run down. TV didn't work, but was fixed within 24 hours. Only real complaint is that we were there for an anniversary trip, and instead of an actual queen or king, the room was two twin beds pushed together! Definitely not the most comfortable or romantic!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ace hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Great hotel a bit dated but great. Staff super friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Rosanna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Doctor Lovefrom Oregon

Need a new safe? No problem!

Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our safe malfunctioned on the second day of our stay, first security was up to try to fix it within 5 minutes, but it had more severe problems. Next morning we kept our documents in a lockbox at the office while touring Cape Town, and when we returned maintenance had replaced the safe. No problem is the best way to describe the staff, very nice. Oh yes, breakfast was fantastic!