Ratings based on 225 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney.

Great location but bathrooms in need of face-lift

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathrooms
The Commodore is ideally located at the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront. The breakfast egg station chef was wonderful but at times the other staff seemed to be overwhelmed. The room was reasonable but the bathroom was poking very dated and the pillows were too soft and flat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great hotel close to the v and a waterfront

Posted Sep 20, 2014
I booked this hotel after reading many reviews and they were all spot on! The staff here was great! The rooms were nice and cleaned twice a day. The breakfast was included and was plentiful! The wi-fi was fast. Overall a great place! The only concern was the street it is on is deserted at night and for two girls walking after dark a little scary especially with the homeless beggars you encounter on the way back to the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ace hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Great hotel a bit dated but great. Staff super friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arizona usa

Great location for V&A.

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Location, valet parking,
Cons: Reception staff had trouble with my reservation though we has booked through expedia. Don't know what that problem was.
Location: V&A waterfront five minute walk. Two miles from Mama Africa Resteraunt . Easy drive to Cape of Good Hope.
Came with a friend, both of us men I our sixties. And we are straight, married, and away from home. We had a room with two twin beds. They were pushed together when we arrived and we separated them for comfort and convienience. Soon after we arrived hotel staff came to make them one big bed. We said no, they checked with housekeeping and left us. When we returned later they had turned down the room and placed the beds together again. No high crime but certainly against our clear wishes. Parking is 75R a day, worth it. Breakfast good, room has ac , and bath. Good deal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Great harbourside location

Posted Sep 2, 2014
We stayed 2 non-consecutive nights and enjoyed the location and the friendliness of the staff. They happily stored some of our bags for a week. Breakfast was superb. The location next to a pumping harbourside and the Victoria Mall was awesome. The only hitch was the crazy South Africa power points and as they were out of adaptors at reception we couldn't charge our devices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Welcoming and elegant

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Comfy bed and location to the V & A, service, breakfast, view
Location: 5 minutes walk to V & A (and to Nelson Mandela Museum); 15 minutes derive to Table Mountain; 5 minutes drive to city centre or the new stadium
Made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Staff went out of their way to assist with an issue that arose and successfully resolved it. Immediately corrected anything that was not working or incorrect in the room. Within 5 minutes walking distance from the V & A. Excellent un-rushed breakfast with a 3 and half hour period to have it, so you could have a lay-in if you wanted. Easy to find and get to from airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location close to restaurants

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Fantastic location, close to wharf, shopping mall and plenty of restaurants. Safe and easy to walk to dinner and bus stops. Beautiful hotel, staff very helpful in all aspects. Pillows and bed could have been more comfortable, but adequate. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Maria João Ramos from Maputo

Perfect

Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
We have been at the Commodore Hotel Cape Town in a mini Honey Moon, and everything was just perfect! From the receptionist to the Spa everything is absolutely amazing! The food is really good too! The breakfast could have more bread varieties, although it pays attention to the gluten free food which does not happen has often as we could desire!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brecon, Wakes

Great place

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Thoroughly enjoyable stay. The staff were fantastic. Great location - so near the Waterfront with all its shops and restaurants. Great choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

A few days in Cape Town

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Very friendly staff.
Cons: The bath tub sink plug is in the way during shower.
Location: Close to water front. Nice location.
Very accommodating staff, responded to all requests and questions.