Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Al from Toronto

Great place to stay

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Had a very positive experience. Big, comfortable room. Nice staff, though one staff member was a little pushy about signing us up for tours. Otherwise, staff was very helpful with anything we needed, from cabs to ordering food. It's on a quiet street, close to the ocean and not too far from the things you'll want to do. There is a pool, but it's tiny and doesn't get a lot of sunlight on it. Breakfast was fantastic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2014
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for your very positive and encouraging review. We are also very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted that you mention one staff member who was overzealous in his tour recommendations and we promise to look into this with the hope that it does not repeat itself. Regarding the amount of sunlight permeated to the pool area, June is the middle of winter in Cape town and hence there is not a lot of sunny days throughout the City but in the summer there is an abundance of sunlight around the pool area and it also helps a lot that it is facing the north. Once again thank you for your lovely review and we hope that you will come again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kelowna BC

central location

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: quiet boutique hotel
Cons: can't think of anything
Location: was close to the cruiseship port, we arrived a few days ahead
Our stay was excellent, staff very helpful, hotel was in walking distance to shopping..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by George from Los Angeles, CA

Very nice hotel

Posted Dec 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice place in Cape Town with a very helpful and attentive staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Karin

Posted Feb 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
It could not have been more pleasant...Highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Watford

Lovely facilities,fantasticstaff,best for couples

Posted Jan 23, 2013
Pros: outside area to relax in after sightseeing in capetown
Cons: nothing ,all good
Location: a little away from main areas but that added to quiet relaxation. Still good restaurants within easy reach.
The hotel is small and in a quiet suburban street with other Guest houses and small hotels or apartment blocks. It is about 5 minute walk to local shops and fast food cafes, slightly longer 10 to 15 minute walk to restaurants. The hotel has excellent service with freshly cooked breakfast to order.The reception staff are happy to make light snacks during the day or provide tea or drinks by the pool.The staff are very attentive and helpful. There is a small outside area based around a pool with decking and loungers, plus more seating for al fresco breakfasts. There is also an outside jaccuzi,and a small fitness room. The rooms are very comfortable with extra large beds, and the shower is also very roomy.there are tea making facilities in the room. All in all we had a lovely few days stay and found the hotel catered for all our needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

good place

Posted Jan 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
One of many good small hotels in Cape Town. The service personnel were very warm people and breakfast was good (nice poached eggs by suggestion). The room however was small and nothing particular interesting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Excellent choice

Posted Aug 17, 2011 on Hotels.com
Cheap, helpful and friendly staff, clean and quiet room. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Ireland

The One 8 Cape Town

Posted Jul 29, 2011 on Hotels.com
We stayed at the One 8 for one night, I wish it could have been more.Set back of the main road in a quiet area with good security.The room and the hotel was very modern and spotless, it has a small pool and deck area very well kept. We were unable to try breakfast so I cant comment on that but the staff were very helpfull and plesent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from L.A.

Very nice little hotel!

Posted Jul 1, 2010
The One 8 Hotel was very nice and their staff was amazing! They were very friendly and accomodated our needs. Will definitely stay there again!