Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

just ok nothing great

Posted Jan 2, 2014
this hotel is a basic hotel, nothing great nothing bad
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by JG from Washington, DC

Great location, but hotel service needs work

Posted Dec 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
My friend and I stayed at the Portswood V&A for three nights in late November. The staff were very friendly, but there were a few times when we asked for assistance and the response was either super slow - or non-existent. Note: that was mainly the front desk staff. The bellman, waiters, and valets were lovely and tried very hard to assist in any way necessary. Also, the key card readers are terrible. We had to get keys redone nearly every time we tried to get into our room. The rooms are fine, outdated band nothing special. Room 202 is noisy as it is just above the area where trucks make deliveries. On the plus side: breakfast was very good and the location is great if you want to be near the waterfront.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by agnes from london

well located

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: the warm welcome of the staff
we stayed 3 nights in the hotel , which is very well located on the water front. It is walking distance from all the restaurants. the staff is very nice . Excellent breakfast . Good place to stay to visit cap town
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by mal from brisbane australia

great location, good value for money

Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
we were really impressed by the friendliness of the staff, except fo reception, who let the team down with indifferent attitude. The meals were great value - as good as we found at the waterfront and much cheaper. The location was hard to beat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Trish from England

great location

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Pros: as above
Cons: Choice of cuisine for the evening meals could be extended.
Location: Just accross the road from the waterfront. Easy access to the hop on hop off bus and the aquarium.
This hotel is perfectly located to the V&A waterfront and the many attractions there. The staff are very friendly and would do everything they could to ensure your stay is to your liking. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. This was my 4th time to Cape Town and this hotel beats the others I have stayed in hands down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Declan from Ireland

Great Location for Waterfront

Posted Sep 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great hotel, price and location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeff from Eau Claire, Wisconsin

Business trip

Posted Sep 14, 2013
Pros: I like the things I mentioned previously, as well as the hotels closeness to the waterfront. It's a very short walk to several restaurants and bars.
Cons: The breakfast is a bit average.
Location: You can walk to the waterfront and do about anything you'd like, from eating to tours around Cape Town sights.
I had a great stay at this hotel. I stayed two nights and felt very comfortable, safe, and at home. The staff really go out of their way to make you feel welcome. I chatted with a very nice bartender in their cozy little lounge. The rooms are small, but comfortable and well kept.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Sayed there 3days for a short vacation, it is a wonderful hotel closeby V&A waterfront area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Iainc from Hawick

comfy rooms

Posted Aug 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
The only bad point was the shower/bath, sometimes had no hot water coming out of the taps/shower.